PDA

View Full Version : W7 or XP for Quad Core



Grimy
20-11-2009, 08:02 PM
When I build my new PC which will either be I5 or Phenom II X4, I guess I should go with W7?
I have a new copy of XP home that I can install, but with a quad core system, I guess W7 would be an advantage.
For general home use, which version of 7-home?

gary67
20-11-2009, 08:03 PM
Well since you already have a new XP I would go home premium win 7 and install your own XP as a virtual saves the cost of buying win 7 pro

Battleneter2
20-11-2009, 08:10 PM
Na its not specifically quads are better with Win7, but most agree Win7 is the better OS, but really you need 2gig+ of ram for it to be a avantage over XP.

pctek
21-11-2009, 09:04 AM
i5 and Win7

Grimy
28-11-2009, 03:25 PM
Okay. I5 and W7 it is then.
So the next question is 32 bit or 64?
My new PC will have no problem with 64 bit spec-wise, but are there still too many issues with compatibility of hardware/programs at the moment? I'm quite happy to mess around looking for drivers etc.

Speedy Gonzales
28-11-2009, 03:47 PM
Most programs should work, look for the drivers for whatever, before you decide to go to 64 bit. Because not all devices will have 64 bit drivers. And they wont work with anything else

linw
28-11-2009, 04:21 PM
64 bit has to be the future configuration . I didn't have any real problems with drivers etc but, of course, different setups will give different experiences. Win7 seems very good at getting drivers that work.

Good luck and have fun with your new machine.

Grimy
28-11-2009, 04:40 PM
64 bit has to be the future configuration . I didn't have any real problems with drivers etc but, of course, different setups will give different experiences. Win7 seems very good at getting drivers that work.

Good luck and have fun with your new machine.

I can't wait. Slowly buying the components and then will sit down and see if I can assemble it without stuffing up too much!
Or I could have a "virtual" PC-keep all the new components in their packaging, never assemble it, but keep upgrading parts!!.........would save a lot of late nights!

Tbird650
28-11-2009, 04:45 PM
I only had 1 minor issue with drivers installing 64bit-W7 on my PhenomII and that was with a microsoft branded webcam. Quickly sorted with right driver tho.
It's fast and stable too. No turning back to 32bit now!