PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP Pro problems



Espresso_Addict
10-11-2009, 04:22 PM
I've been having random issues with Xp, not booting at all, booting to the windows flash screen and no further, loging on and then freezing, Dr Watson error messages at shutdown, not shutting down at all etc.....

I decided to slip the original Cd in and run the repair function,once it had loaded all the drivers etc it stopped and the blue screen appeared with an error message of a possible driver conflict etc

The error message reads:
*** STOP: 0x000007E (0x0000005, 0xF748E0BF, 0xF78DA208, 0xF78D9F08)
*** pci.sys - address F748E0BF base at F7487000 datestamp 3b7d855c

Can anyone decipher this and point me in the right direction?

Xp Pro SP3

Cheers

Grant

Speedy Gonzales
10-11-2009, 04:38 PM
Thats the prob pci.sys, its crashing / maybe corrupt. You'll have to replace it with the cd copy. Or go to start/run type sfc /scannow, then put the XP cd in

Espresso_Addict
10-11-2009, 05:07 PM
Thanks, I'll try both

pctek
11-11-2009, 09:02 AM
I decided to slip the original Cd in and run the repair function
*** STOP:
*** pci.sys

Usually it's because the CD is older - that is - it wants SP 2 or SP3. Is your CD SP3?

Espresso_Addict
11-11-2009, 12:11 PM
No its the original from way back when......

Espresso_Addict
17-11-2009, 05:53 PM
Ok the plot thickens
Have installed Xp on another spare hard in another pc, and its running ok
Swap it with the drive that has the error as above and bingo, I get the same message on a completely different drive that as yet has nothing loaded except Xp pro and sp2

Now I'm wondering if it could be a bios issue?

Speedy Gonzales
17-11-2009, 05:55 PM
If its working with the new hdd, its not a bios prob. Whats the brand/model of the mobo. And what CPU is in it?

Espresso_Addict
17-11-2009, 06:14 PM
No that's the problem, I get the same error message with both the new and the old drives
its a Gigabyte EP45-UD3R mobo and an E8400 Core 2 Duo

Espresso_Addict
17-11-2009, 06:16 PM
Would the graphics card possibly effect it? a Sapphire ATI HD4670

Speedy Gonzales
17-11-2009, 06:20 PM
You could try updating the BIOS, its up to F11,according to the GB site. What BIOS version is on it?

Espresso_Addict
17-11-2009, 06:22 PM
I'll need to check and get back to you...But thanks for the heads up