PDA

View Full Version : Bootable MS.



JOYBEBA6679
10-11-2009, 09:15 AM
Hi to all, Is there a way to make bootable a 4GB Memory Stick Pro duo. The ones used on PSPs?? Thanks in advance!

Speedy Gonzales
10-11-2009, 09:17 AM
Probably is , but you would need a card reader to boot from it on your computer. Dont know if there's an option in the BIOS, so you can boot from it though

JOYBEBA6679
10-11-2009, 09:28 AM
Yes, is for a tablet Laptop that can only boot via the SD card reader and since it cant read SDHC cards, then I was thinking I can maybe use a 4GB MS pro duo I have to boot from it. Is there a tutorial or something to do it??

PS: Heyy hii speedy :D:D thanks for all the help last time.

Chilling_Silence
10-11-2009, 09:29 AM
Boot from it to do what? Install an OS on itself? Linux? XP? 7? Boot from it with a pre-installed OS?

JOYBEBA6679
10-11-2009, 09:31 AM
Install a new OS on the tablet, a fresh start.

Speedy Gonzales
10-11-2009, 09:34 AM
Only one way to find out. Copy an XP cd to it, see what happens. Change it to the bootdisk in the BIOS (if the option is there). It'll either work or it wont. If windows was on it before, then it must have been installed one way or the other

JOYBEBA6679
10-11-2009, 09:37 AM
Laptop has Windows XP tablet edition sp3, I have a Windows 7 upgrade in iso form. I want to boot the laptop from the card reader so I can install 7 on the laptop.

Speedy Gonzales
10-11-2009, 09:45 AM
Well if its in iso form, you'll have to extract whats in the ISO first. You cant boot from an ISO (unless youre in windows first), and use a program to mount it. Then boot from it

whellington
10-11-2009, 09:46 AM
You can't boot from ISO form

You need a tool that makes ISO bootable on mem stick.
Or just extract if its a bootable version

JOYBEBA6679
10-11-2009, 09:51 AM
Well I used IMGburn to burn the iso to a DVD-R as an Image, and it did work on my other laptop, I booted perfectly. But I dont think IMGburn can copy to a MS card or can it?

JOYBEBA6679
10-11-2009, 09:54 AM
Or maybe, is it possible to mount the iso to a virtual drive and try to run the installer from it?

Speedy Gonzales
10-11-2009, 09:54 AM
No, you have to open the DVD-R then copy all the files in it to the card. Thats what virtual drives are for (if its for cd), then you should be able to boot from it. If the ISO is on the tablet, then yup use whatever program to make a virtual drive, then run the setup file

JOYBEBA6679
10-11-2009, 09:57 AM
Soo I open the DVD-R I burned with IMGburn using windows explorer and then copy all the files to the MS pro duo????

Speedy Gonzales
10-11-2009, 10:06 AM
Thats the only way youre going to get the files on the card (by copying whats on the DVD-R to it). Or as you said, mount the ISO on the laptop with something, (Thats if the ISO is on the laptop now) then run the setup file