PDA

View Full Version : Vista 64-Bit 4850 Freezing (+ Crap Performance) Issues



CaptainVincent
05-11-2009, 11:04 AM
Hey there everyone, I'll start off with my specs

Vista 64-bit
AMD Athlon 3500+ (Soon to be X2 5600+)
Radeon HD4850
2GB DDR2 RAM
420W SLI PSU Enermax =S

I have the 4850 hooked up with a native 6-pin, Please don't tell me it's my PSU =S.

Anyway my game frame rates pop around-ish this frame rate
Fallout 3 - 12-40 FPS
Borderlands - 1 FPS (No natter what, Besides when you pick your character)
GRID - 13-40 FPS (Even on medium)
Crysis Warhead - (Gamer settings, Low physics) - 8-20FPS (extreme stutter)
Call Of Juarez - 13-30FPS

Even for a single core these frame rates are just too low, currently I am at school and shouldn't be posting this but if anyone is willing to help I will post any information needed when I get home (e.g. DxDiag, Could possibly get 3D Mark)

I have a feeling this is not a PSU related issue as it is a quality 420W SLI Enermax and I have run more powerful systems on 400W generic PSU's with no 6-Pin PCI-E Adaptors.

When I get home I will also be Installing Windows 7 64-Bit to see if this makes a difference, Within 1-2 weeks I will be purchasing the 65W version of the 5600+ X2.

I am running the latest Catylast Drivers and uninstalled (then driversweeped) my previous drivers. I also have the latest Nvidia PhysX installed, Cheers.

Battleneter2
05-11-2009, 11:10 AM
The AMD Athlon 3500+ is a woeful match for a 4850. All of those games esp Borderlands are CPU hogs.

For example on a 3gig Core 2 Duo, I witness borderlands running at 90%+ constant on both cores at 1900x1080, that 3500+ doesnt stand a chance.


Leave your task manager running and play Fallout3 or Borderlands, I would bet money your at 100% CPU usage.


It is most likely your processor. The 5600+ should be a major improvement but may still bottleneck that 4850 in a few games.

GameJunkie
05-11-2009, 11:11 AM
what do you need Nvidia physx for ?

you have an ati card

CaptainVincent
05-11-2009, 11:13 AM
what do you need Nvidia physx for ?

you have an ati card

Because you need it installed to even start up PhysX based games.........

GameJunkie
05-11-2009, 11:14 AM
my bad :p

CaptainVincent
05-11-2009, 11:15 AM
The AMD Athlon 3500+ is a woeful match for a 4850. All of those games esp Borderlands are CPU hogs.

For example on a 3gig Core 2 Duo, I witness borderlands running at 90%+ constant on both cores at 1900x1080, that 3500+ doesnt stand a chance.


Leave your task manager running and play Fallout3 or Borderlands, I would bet money your at 100% CPU usage.


It is most likely your processor. The 5600+ should be a major improvement but may still bottleneck that 4850 in a few games.


C'mon dude, 1 frame per second, lowest settings, 800x600.

People run borderlands okay on a 2.4Ghz Pentium 4

Battleneter2
05-11-2009, 11:20 AM
Im looking at all the data you provided, not that 1 specific example.

You are heavily CPU bottlenecked, I have a old 3000+ running @ 2.8 gig faster that 3500+ in a rig for one of the kids, I am 100% dead serious and not trolling its your processor and im telling you that for free.

Battleneter2
05-11-2009, 11:56 AM
This may help specifically with borderlands, I think you may have a separate issue there, your right 1fps is a tad off. The rest of the games does not surprise me, so you have two issues.

http://gbxforums.gearboxsoftware.com/showthread.php?t=83971

sroby
05-11-2009, 12:32 PM
The AMD Athlon 3500+ is a woeful match for a 4850...



+1
This is a 5 year old cpu(single core). No wonder you have issues with modern games.
I have one of these, I relegated it to a media PC.
I'd speed some $$ on the fastest dual core you can afford..that works in your m/b
:thumbs:

SolMiester
05-11-2009, 02:22 PM
The AMD Athlon 3500+ is a woeful match for a 4850. All of those games esp Borderlands are CPU hogs.

For example on a 3gig Core 2 Duo, I witness borderlands running at 90%+ constant on both cores at 1900x1080, that 3500+ doesnt stand a chance.


Leave your task manager running and play Fallout3 or Borderlands, I would bet money your at 100% CPU usage.


It is most likely your processor. The 5600+ should be a major improvement but may still bottleneck that 4850 in a few games.

I have to agree besides which the OP doesnt state what resolution he is using either...single core 3500 @ 2.2Ghz is like 2004, I doubt the 5600+ will really change the outlook very much....

pctek
05-11-2009, 03:29 PM
CPU. Time to upgrade. Your card is fine, the CPU is the bottleneck.

A nice Socket 775 Core 2 Duo will help, getting cheaper too now with all the Core i5 and Core i7 stuff out now.

PCT Joe
05-11-2009, 05:26 PM
I get the feeling he doesnt want to replace his mobo and CPU as it sounds like hes a student(not rich!!!)

As for the processor, would it not be better getting a Athon X2 250?($120ish) or a Phenom Propus quad($160ish)

PENTIUM
05-11-2009, 05:56 PM
My 3500+ AMD runs on a socket 939 with DDR, it is a pre-AM2 MOBO! It may not be as simple as your helpers suggest. It is not a gamers device but is a good work horse to pull carts with.

Gobe1
06-11-2009, 07:49 AM
Yep save your pennies and get a core 2 duo,I have 4850 with a E8500 running Grid really nice at 1680x1050 on vista 64. not sure of frame rates havent tested it
We have a 3500 at work for Autocad and it is a pos

Blam
06-11-2009, 08:38 AM
Even an overclocked E5200 would do fine..

CaptainVincent
08-11-2009, 11:03 AM
Even an overclocked E5200 would do fine..

Yes, A Socket 775 on my shiny AM2 Mobo lulz.

Asus M2N is also AM2 exclusive (not AM2+ even with bios update)

That means no Intel, No AM2+ (7750's) No X2 250's .etc.

5600+ 65W Edition for CaptainVin. Still makes no sense though 1 FPS no matter what in alot of games at 640x480 =S.

CaptainVincent
08-11-2009, 11:08 AM
I have to agree besides which the OP doesnt state what resolution he is using either...single core 3500 @ 2.2Ghz is like 2004, I doubt the 5600+ will really change the outlook very much....

It'll only be a bajillion times faster. Even my old X2 3800+ laughed at GRID and Call of Juarez. 3500+ Single Core to 5600+ Dual Core is gonna be a big step in terms of general game performance and benchmark statistics.