PDA

View Full Version : Setting a static IP Open.Suse 11.1



andreas.hagen
29-10-2009, 01:54 PM
Hi I am trying to specify a static ip on suse 11.1 using the network utility.

but after I set everything I lose Internet connectivity.

My details are as follows, RTA1025W router, its' IP address 192.168.1.1 Open suse server address 192.168.1.4, xp dt pc 192.168.1.88, vista dt pc 192.168.1.99
HOSTNAME I use from the router "RTA1025W" in caps.

I've tried googling for instructions on how to enter these details in suse11.1 couldn't find anything.

Does anyone know a link to directions to enter this stuff that will work with suse 11.1

I've also turned off dhcp on the router

THANKS IN ADVANCE!

Chilling_Silence
29-10-2009, 02:01 PM
Why do you want a static IP Address? Leaving DHCP on generally avoids a lot of hassles ;)

Otherwise, see here:
http://www.google.co.nz/search?rlz=1C1GGLS_enNZ339NZ339&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=opensuse+set+static+ip

andreas.hagen
29-10-2009, 02:47 PM
I want to run a network printer of the server (file/print server). Is this the best way to do it?

Chilling_Silence
29-10-2009, 03:10 PM
Why not just leave DHCP on and point everything to the computer name rather than the IP Address? Or have the Router always assign it the same IP Address? :) DHCP means if you have mates come over, they can easily join your network without you having to manually configure their PC every time they come and leave.

Blam
29-10-2009, 07:57 PM
Yea, I agree with Chill-just use the computer name, or see if your router supports static DHCP