PDA

View Full Version : Freeview help



whellington
24-10-2009, 04:44 PM
I got a satellite dish thats connected to a cable that looks like this: http://www.hometheatermag.com/images/archivesart/1105hook.1.jpg

How do i connect this to my freeview receiver? Do i need an adapter

THe back looks similar to this:
http://images.trademe.co.nz/photoserver/17/105738017_full.jpg

It doesn't have a sateilte cable input

Speedy Gonzales
24-10-2009, 04:53 PM
Doesnt look like that box has a connection, its for UHF / terrestrial. You'll have to use an outside aerial

kjaada
24-10-2009, 05:06 PM
The 2 plugs on the LH side are the female fittings for yr cable.One is for the dish in and the second is to go to another decoder so you can have freeview in 2 rooms with their own
decoder.

Grimy
24-10-2009, 05:30 PM
The 2 plugs on the LH side are the female fittings for yr cable.One is for the dish in and the second is to go to another decoder so you can have freeview in 2 rooms with their own
decoder.

Correct. Or you can use a splitter in a central location to feed separate cables to other set top boxes. If you do it is a good idea to get a splitter that has "power pass" on all ports. If you don't, you'll have to have the master STB on to power the dish, even if you're not using that box for the TV you are wanting to use. I had a splitter with only one power pass port, and it was a pain, so changed to a multi power pass splitter. Much more convenient.

whellington
24-10-2009, 05:42 PM
Doesnt look like that box has a connection, its for UHF / terrestrial. You'll have to use an outside aerial

Damn that sucks, does it mean i can't use my satellite?


The 2 plugs on the LH side are the female fittings for yr cable.One is for the dish in and the second is to go to another decoder so you can have freeview in 2 rooms with their own
decoder.

IT doesnt fit the sat cable is a hexagonal shape and too short.. my outside antenna cable fits in there but it doesn't scan some channels and pretty fuzzy picture quality

kjaada
24-10-2009, 05:46 PM
The hexagonal nut should revolve and let you screw it on to the decoder.It does look a bit
like a jack up as the centre peg is the centre of the cable.Even so the nut should turn.

whellington
24-10-2009, 05:51 PM
The hexagonal nut should revolve and let you screw it on to the decoder.It does look a bit
like a jack up as the centre peg is the centre of the cable.Even so the nut should turn.

It doesn't fit only my inside and outside antenna works. The connector looks different - circular, smaller diameter than the sat, and a bigger inside pin. (same connector as my TV)

Sigh looks like i need to get a new freeview receiver.. which one of these has a sat input?

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Electronics-photography/TVs/Satellite-receivers/mcat-0124-0060-7088-.htm

Agent_24
24-10-2009, 05:53 PM
Get an adaptor for the cable?

Can you post photos of the REAL cables and plugs?

Can you give us the brand and model of your own tuner?

kjaada
24-10-2009, 07:00 PM
A fair proportion of decoders only work with terrestial.The
one you showed had the dish connection plugs.
The hexagonal nut must screw in to the thread on those plugs.

ubergeek85
24-10-2009, 07:21 PM
From what I see (the pics you posted) everything should fit. The cable you posted has an F-connector on it, and the box is a sat box with f-connectors on it. They're threaded, so you need to screw them on, but other than that, it's quite simple.

From what you say, it seems like you might have a terrestrial box - is the connector you're referring to like this (http://www.mediacollege.com/images/iresource/ivt/twovcrs/plugRFm.jpg)? If it is, then you've got a terrestrial box, also known as freeview HD.

From the statement "my outside antenna cable fits in there but it doesn't scan some channels and pretty fuzzy picture quality" it seems like you can somewhat get terrestrial, you just have poor reception. Chek the antenna is correctly aligned, cable is in good condition, etc. You might need a masthead amplifier.

whellington
24-10-2009, 07:31 PM
From what I see (the pics you posted) everything should fit. The cable you posted has an F-connector on it, and the box is a sat box with f-connectors on it. They're threaded, so you need to screw them on, but other than that, it's quite simple.

From what you say, it seems like you might have a terrestrial box - is the connector you're referring to like this (http://www.mediacollege.com/images/iresource/ivt/twovcrs/plugRFm.jpg)? If it is, then you've got a terrestrial box, also known as freeview HD.

From the statement "my outside antenna cable fits in there but it doesn't scan some channels and pretty fuzzy picture quality" it seems like you can somewhat get terrestrial, you just have poor reception. Chek the antenna is correctly aligned, cable is in good condition, etc. You might need a masthead amplifier.

It looks like it but the connections are different.

Do these have a sat input?
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Electronics-photography/TVs/Satellite-receivers/auction-249468061.htm

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Electronics-photography/TVs/Satellite-receivers/auction-249507128.htm

ubergeek85
24-10-2009, 07:34 PM
First one, no, that's terrestrial.

Second one, yes, that's sat by the looks of it.

If I were you, i'd just try and the the terrestrial box going, it's far better than sat, more chans, HD, etc. Also, one less box to buy.

Edit; it looks like the first box is sat too. The RF connectors threw me.

coldot
24-10-2009, 09:27 PM
whelli,
For sure your cable end has an F connector on it. For sure that sat. box has F sockets at the left hand end labelled 'Dish In' and 'Loop'. The wire end on the F connector looks a little bit bent as often happens with soft copper wire. Gently tweak with long nose pliers to make it straight and it will fit into the 'Dish In' socket. Then tighten the outer nut onto the F socket thread. There's no point looking at other sat.boxes as they have identical connectors to that box you have.

ubergeek85
24-10-2009, 09:33 PM
whelli,
For sure your cable end has an F connector on it. For sure that sat. box has F sockets at the left hand end labelled 'Dish In' and 'Loop'. The wire end on the F connector looks a little bit bent as often happens with soft copper wire. Gently tweak with long nose pliers to make it straight and it will fit into the 'Dish In' socket. Then tighten the outer nut onto the F socket thread. There's no point looking at other sat.boxes as they have identical connectors to that box you have.

It sounds like whelli somehow got landed with a dvb-t box, not dvb-s. Sat and terrestrial are two different things..