PDA

View Full Version : Win 7 XP Mode - Experiences?



pctek
24-10-2009, 07:58 AM
Who's tried it?
I tried two 16bit apps I have had for ages. Both worked just fine in 32bit.

Complete fail with XP Mode, got various errors.

So much for that......

wainuitech
24-10-2009, 08:05 AM
Only had to use it once - worked fine.

What are the apps that are not working ?

wainuitech
24-10-2009, 09:16 AM
Think I found the Problem Pctek -- If you are running 64bit W7, even though XP mode is XP , its still on a 64 Bit Base.


The 32-bit Vista (and Windows 7) version will run most 16-bit applications in compatibility mode, but there's no guarantee. The 64-bit version will not run 16-bit applications (it lacks a 16-bit subsystem).


If you can name the Apps I can try them on both 32 & 64 Bit if you like.

Safari
24-10-2009, 10:38 AM
http://movies.apple.com/media/us/mac/getamac/2009/apple-mvp-broken_promises-us-20091022_480x272.mov

Blam
24-10-2009, 12:29 PM
Who's tried it?
I tried two 16bit apps I have had for ages. Both worked just fine in 32bit.

Complete fail with XP Mode, got various errors.

So much for that......

Yep, tried it a few times and its worked fine. Laggs a bit on my parents AMD, but other than that its fine.

Chilling_Silence
24-10-2009, 12:35 PM
Works well with even specialist software that needs a USB dongle and apps written for Win2K :)

pctek
25-10-2009, 07:45 AM
Emailed app to Wainuitech. It's probably the app, what it does. Pity, as it was mostly why I got the XP MOde. Never mind, when he's forced to upgrade from XP, he might re-write it.

Now, I still have my screen problem. What it looks like is a refresh rate problem.
Windows open have a jitter on text and borders and it looks awful.

I've tried several different GPU drivers and even installed the actual monitor driver.

I can make it go away but it comes back.

This is only since the new windows but one thing that fixes it is going into the actual monitor menu and fiddling with the Fine Tune, via the buttons on the monitor.

I don't think it's drivers anymore, I've tried that many. The Windows default, Vista 64bit, 2 different Win 7 64bit.

Refresh rate is on 75, 60 makes it even worse.

Chilling_Silence
25-10-2009, 07:55 AM
Photo / screenshot?

What GPU you running? The SLI rig you had?

wainuitech
25-10-2009, 09:19 AM
I can confirm the app Pctek emailed me turns turtle on W7 64 Bit - just have to try it on 32Bit.

wainuitech
25-10-2009, 10:01 PM
Okay - didn't work in 32bit W 7 or XP mode either BUT - not wanting to be beaten :eek: I did manage to get the program running on 64Bit W7, not quite the same as XP, as it did run on XP with no problems - dont know how to use the program - So Pctek - a suggestion coming Via Email.

pctek
26-10-2009, 07:56 AM
DOSBox. MMM. Nah, I'll wait for him to give up on XP, upgrade to WIn7 and rewrite all his stuff.............

However while he originally wrote it for 16bit, he rewrote it as I needed to use it on WinNT, so XP Mode SHOULD run it.