PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 upgrade confusion

GorCh
23-10-2009, 10:02 PM
Hi there,

I'm looking for some advice on what is and isn't possible with upgrading to windows 7, as all the information i have found seems to step around the question I want answered.

I am currently dual booting vista 32 home premium and the windows 7 64bit RC.

I'm a uni student, though not a computer science one, and can get Win7 Ultimate 64 upgrade for $180 through the tertiary scheme.

However is this going to be a viable option for me? I know I can't do an in place upgrade. I don't care if I have to re-download and install programs, and all my data will be backed up anyway.

Ideally I want a clean install. But will I be able to 'upgrade' from vista 32 to 7 64?

Cheers fro your help,

Gorch

nmercer
23-10-2009, 10:05 PM
yes, just boot off the Windows 7 DVD and do a normal install

Cheers
Nathan
Microsoft NZ

GorCh
23-10-2009, 10:07 PM
So you don't need to have an installed version of windows working first to use the upgrade disc?

davidmmac
23-10-2009, 10:10 PM
With Vista you were able to do a clean install with an upgrade disk (see here (http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/winvista_upgrade_clean.asp)), I'm not sure if you can still do this with 7 though.

Edit: Just found this (http://community.winsupersite.com/blogs/paul/archive/2009/06/25/clean-install-with-windows-7-upgrade-media-what-about-x64-upgrades.aspx), which you might find useful.

Thebananamonkey
24-10-2009, 12:30 AM
How do you get the tertiary discs?

I've been looking all around trying to get them but have only been able to find US and AUS based sales. Is there a website or do you get them through Uni?

Trying to make the most of my GF's last few weeks at uni for my own benefit...

nmercer
24-10-2009, 02:04 AM
So you don't need to have an installed version of windows working first to use the upgrade disc?

Let me check up about the upgrade disc, whether it needs to see Vista/XP to install or activate

Cheers
Nathan