PDA

View Full Version : Arrrgh Ram failure - What went wrong?



EX-WESTY
21-10-2009, 02:58 PM
Upgrading a mates P4 as it only had 256Mb of ram installed, did a scan with crucial which recommended installing 2Gb of ram which was duly purchased.

GOLD PIN 184PIN 6 LAYER BRAND NEW MEMORY
BACKWARDS COMPATIBLE WITH PC2700, PC2100
Type: DDR SDRAM
Capacity: 2GB (2 x 1GB) DIMM
Speed: PC 3200 400FSB/400Mhz
Density: LOW DENSITY
Pins : 184Pin (For Desktop PC)
ECC/Registered : No/No
Volt : 2.5V
CAS Latency: CL3

Fired two sticks of this in and sent him off, hours later it started beeping and looks like it's cooked the new ram. :badpc:

:crying

Speedy Gonzales
21-10-2009, 02:59 PM
And whats the brand / model of the mobo?

EX-WESTY
21-10-2009, 03:13 PM
Specs of the board are here

http://support.packardbell.com/uk/item/index.php?i=spec_palomarpl&pi=platform_veloce_ixtreme

Speedy Gonzales
21-10-2009, 03:36 PM
I would ask in their forum, that link tells you what it can / may take, the different systems, it doesnt say whats actually in it. Or anything else

Cato
21-10-2009, 03:40 PM
Try running each module on it's own. And see if one is fried.

EX-WESTY
21-10-2009, 03:56 PM
The both fried themselves it would seem.

Long beeps on startup, red leds on the ram and a look at the chips shows heat damage on the ram. :groan:

Cato
21-10-2009, 04:03 PM
Have you tried the module your originally had?

Memory should be one continuous beeb not long beeps.

Edit: Heat dammage, just get them replaced.

Agent_24
21-10-2009, 04:35 PM
Memory should be one continuous beeb not long beeps.

Wrong, it all depends on the BIOS. There is no single beep code for faulty RAM.

pctek
21-10-2009, 04:40 PM
# Supports a maximum memory size of 2 GB (using 2 x 1 GB memory modules)
# Warning: Not all memory configuration qualified!
# Support only 2.5V DIMM DDRAM configurations
# Un-buffered type support
# With CPU FSB:

* 800 MHz memory up to DDR400
* 533 MHz memory up to DDR333
* 400 MHz memory up to DDR266

Its an MSI board. Rubbish.

Cato
21-10-2009, 04:51 PM
http://www.ami.com/support/doc/AMIBIOS8_Checkpoint_and_Beep_Code_List_PUB.pdf

EX-WESTY
21-10-2009, 05:13 PM
I reinstalled the origional two 128 sticks + an additional 256K that I had lying around it's chugging away happily.

I have some more 1Gb sticks but they ain't going anywhere near it until I figure out what went wrong.

Win XP and 1/2 Gb of ram and it's like a 3 legged dog with a broken leg, still better than 256Mb which was like a 3 legged dog with two broken legs hence the upgrade.

EX-WESTY
21-10-2009, 06:06 PM
Here's a photo of the offending items


http://images.trademe.co.nz/photoserver/26/108878926_full.jpg

Agent_24
22-10-2009, 12:37 AM
http://www.ami.com/support/doc/AMIBIOS8_Checkpoint_and_Beep_Code_List_PUB.pdf

For a start that only applies to AMI BIOS v8 and not to any other version or company like Award, Phoenix etc and doesn't take into account any customised versions.

Secondly, that even lists at least 2 different types of memory errors, both with different beep codes

(I have heard both of those and more, all caused by faulty RAM)

Agent_24
22-10-2009, 12:42 AM
Here's a photo of the offending items


http://images.trademe.co.nz/photoserver/26/108878926_full.jpg

I'm confused, did you buy the new RAM from Trademe?
What are the lines going across them?

Perhaps the motherboard had the VDIMM set too high?

SolMiester
22-10-2009, 08:16 AM
# Supports a maximum memory size of 2 GB (using 2 x 1 GB memory modules)
# Warning: Not all memory configuration qualified!
# Support only 2.5V DIMM DDRAM configurations
# Un-buffered type support
# With CPU FSB:

* 800 MHz memory up to DDR400
* 533 MHz memory up to DDR333
* 400 MHz memory up to DDR266

Its an MSI board. Rubbish.

MSI are NOT rubbish PCT.....

EX-WESTY
22-10-2009, 08:23 AM
The lines going across the ram chips in the middle are where it seems to have failed. Chips on both sides of the dimm are affected.
The chips were purchased from a trader on trademe, brand new items and correctly speced for the pc so the prechecking tells me.

Agent_24
22-10-2009, 08:55 AM
The lines going across the ram chips in the middle are where it seems to have failed. Chips on both sides of the dimm are affected.
The chips were purchased from a trader on trademe, brand new items and correctly speced for the pc so the prechecking tells me.

You do mean the long lines which go across the whole ram stick...?
I take it also that the label is not meant to be blackened...

It does indeed look like they were seriously overheated...

I do not recognise the large QFP Chip right in the middle. Do you know what that is for?

What is the brand and model of the RAM you purchased? What is the brand and model of the RAM that still works?

EX-WESTY
22-10-2009, 09:06 AM
The lines across the chips are just a white/ grey paint

The chip in the middle is hooked up to a row of led's on the top of the dimm for visual confirmation.

The sticker is silver, it just didn't scan too well.

No name or manufacturer on the module, just levin 7060ip which a google produces nothing.

Still haven't heard back from the seller yet either

The ram that works is the original HP ram + another 256 stick that I had lying round, its been going all night with no problem. Still only got 512 which needs to be addressed hence the reason for the upgrade in the 1st place.

Agent_24
22-10-2009, 09:50 AM
Where does it say "levin 7060ip"?
If it's top left in the photo, printed to the board itself then that's probably just the PCB maker's mark

What does the label say?

There can't be many types of RAM which feature LEDs....

EX-WESTY
22-10-2009, 10:18 AM
Leds - yeah 1st time I'd seen them too

Label says 1GB DDR - I 400MhZ 8972-C-0999 and warrenty void if removed.

evrypc
22-10-2009, 11:28 AM
hmm so its ddr400 ram? maybe the motherboard is providing a different voltage to ram and thus baked it?

wainuitech
22-10-2009, 01:06 PM
never heard of that make of RAM - thats a bit suspect from the start esp if it cant be found on google -


Leds - yeah 1st time I'd seen them too The Corsair TwinX1024-4000Pro Memory Has LED's Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/LED.jpg) - But then Corsair are a well known brand name.

Agent_24
22-10-2009, 02:48 PM
All up it sounds like the RAM was at fault... if the board was faulty then I'd expect the old RAM to also be cooked

Who did you buy the RAM from?