PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 32bit or 64bit?



Mike
19-10-2009, 06:58 AM
I'm hoping to install Windows 7 today on my home PC. Was thinking about installing the 64bit version - is there any reason why I shouldn't? Will I run into driver issues or software issues? Am I likely to find my games don't work or anything like that? Or should I install the 32bit version?

I'm currently running Vista 32bit (and having no issues) and everything works fine on that.

Cheers,
Mike.

inphinity
19-10-2009, 07:04 AM
Personally I don't see why they bothered to release a 32-bit edition, I can't see any circumstances where it will provide any benefit or advantage over the 64-bit edition, only disadvantages.

Mike
19-10-2009, 07:07 AM
Personally I don't see why they bothered to release a 32-bit edition, I can't see any circumstances where it will provide any benefit or advantage over the 64-bit edition, only disadvantages.Other than installing it on a 32bit system? :)

and that said, it works well on my old 32bit P4 :D

Mike.

inphinity
19-10-2009, 07:13 AM
Other than installing it on a 32bit system? :)

and that said, it works well on my old 32bit P4 :D

Mike.

People still use 32-bit CPUs? eww :X

Speedy Gonzales
19-10-2009, 07:17 AM
Unless the CPU supports 64 bit, you cant install 64 bit. Not all CPU's support 32 and 64 bit. Thats why there's 32 and 64 bit versions. The mobo isnt the only thing that has to be 64 bit, the CPU has to be as well

Mike
19-10-2009, 07:22 AM
I'm running a 64bit cpu.

Mike.

Speedy Gonzales
19-10-2009, 07:29 AM
Well the main thing are drivers, and they have to be 64 bit. No 64 bit driver, no go. 64 bit Vista drivers MAY work. Advantages, you can use 4GB +, or the max amount of ram the mobo can take (thats if you can find / afford 4 GB ram sticks, if the mobo can take 16 GB). Most 32 bit programs should work (I only know of 1 program that doesnt work so far with 64 bit - trojan remover). But there's probably others. Dont know about games, dont have any. You'll have to read the case, or ask, before you buy it. But 64 bit does have a programs files folder (for 64 bit), and a x86 folder, for 32 bit programs.

Mike
19-10-2009, 07:30 AM
OK Thanks for that Speedy,

I guess I'll just take the risk, go to 64bit and see how I go. If I have issues I can always reinstall with 32bit.

Cheers,
Mike.

paulw
19-10-2009, 07:34 AM
People still use 32-bit CPUs? eww :X
Not everyone can afford to upgrade their PCs every week ..

Blam
19-10-2009, 07:44 AM
OK Thanks for that Speedy,

I guess I'll just take the risk, go to 64bit and see how I go. If I have issues I can always reinstall with 32bit.

Cheers,
Mike.

TBH driver support with W7 is pretty good, so even with x64 you shouldn't have any issues at all.

inphinity
19-10-2009, 09:44 AM
Not everyone can afford to upgrade their PCs every week ..

Or, apparently, every 5 years.

So, apologies, it seems I was a bit premature in assuming people had vaguely recent hardware when looking to install Windows 7.

So, then, I'll rephrase and say I can see no reason to install the 32-bit version of WIndows 7 on any PC that has full hardware support for 64-bit OSes.

nofam
19-10-2009, 10:09 AM
So all things being equal, is there a big performance gain using 64-bit?

And are major suites like Office 2007 being re-released so they can address all the extra RAM etc?

Speedy Gonzales
19-10-2009, 10:13 AM
If the program is 64 bit, then things can be faster. And no, I dont think Office 07 will be 64 bit (it looks like Office 2010 will be 32 and 64 bit tho)

nmercer
19-10-2009, 10:26 AM
Personally I don't see why they bothered to release a 32-bit edition, I can't see any circumstances where it will provide any benefit or advantage over the 64-bit edition, only disadvantages.

The biggest and most obvious disadvantage with only having 64 bit version of Windows 7 is netbooks

and Netbook are tone of the fastest growing segments of the PC industry

so it would be madness for Microsoft not to support Windows 7 on 32bit hardware

Cheers
Nathan

nmercer
19-10-2009, 10:28 AM
If the program is 64 bit, then things can be faster. And no, I dont think Office 07 will be 64 bit (it looks like Office 2010 will be 32 and 64 bit tho)

there will never be a native 64 bit version of Office 2007, but 2007 runs fine on 64 bit versions of Windows using the WoW64 layer

Office 2010 will have a native 64 bit version as well as continue to have 32 bit as well

inphinity
19-10-2009, 10:45 AM
The biggest and most obvious disadvantage with only having 64 bit version of Windows 7 is netbooks


Very good point, only the higher-end Atom (and similar) CPUs are x64 still eh.

Chilling_Silence
19-10-2009, 10:48 AM
With the 64-bit version of windows, you cannot run 16-bit applications as the 32-bit version does unless you install XP-Mode and then run them from within XP-Mode.

Drivers are pretty darn good for 64-bit, far, far less issues when compared with Vista / XP.

Bear in mind that even if you have 3GB RAM, if you've got a large graphics card (512MB -> 1024MB for example) then you still might not even be able to access all your 3GB on a 32-bit OS. So if you've got 2GB RAM or more, or envisage you will in the near future, it's worth going for 64-bit :)

Because (with the noted exception of netbooks) it is where the PC world is headed with faster CPUs, bigger graphics cards etc, it's pretty safe to go 64-bit at the moment :)

Chilling_Silence
19-10-2009, 10:55 AM
Very good point, only the higher-end Atom (and similar) CPUs are x64 still eh.

Not specifically, even some of the single-core Atoms support x64 extensions.

"x86-64 is so far only activated for the Atom 230, 330, 410 & 510 desktop models. N and Z series Atom models cannot run x86-64 code"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Atom_microprocessors

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Atom

Speedy Gonzales
19-10-2009, 11:13 AM
there will never be a native 64 bit version of Office 2007, but 2007 runs fine on 64 bit versions of Windows using the WoW64 layer

Office 2010 will have a native 64 bit version as well as continue to have 32 bit as well

Which is what I said. Yup, I know Office 07 works in 64 bit, I'm using it in 64 bit. Bit late having 64 bit for Office 07 anyway, if anyone didnt notice its 2009

nmercer
19-10-2009, 11:15 AM
Which is what I said. Yup, I know Office 07 works in 64 bit, I'm using it in 64 bit. Bit late having 64 bit for Office 07 anyway, if anyone didnt notice its 2009

yep, just posting a bit more info

nmercer
19-10-2009, 11:17 AM
Not specifically, even some of the single-core Atoms support x64 extensions.

"x86-64 is so far only activated for the Atom 230, 330, 410 & 510 desktop models. N and Z series Atom models cannot run x86-64 code"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Atom_microprocessors

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Atom

exactly, yet to see a x64 Atom shipping in a Netbook

wainuitech
19-10-2009, 11:32 AM
One of the biggest problems with 64 bit is still drivers.

Classic example, this morning I went to install the Lexmark Color laser on a 64bit W7 - The drivers that are "meant" to be for w7 64 bit on lexmarks site simply crshed and caused all sorts of problems on W7 Pro.

Run restore back, and did an update using Microsofts own printer driver base and it installed and worked perfectly.

gary67
19-10-2009, 03:53 PM
I was dreading going to 64 bit since my printer and print server are a bit older, but I tried the 64 bit RC win 7 and they both worked just fine, so I am getting the 64 bit

Mike
19-10-2009, 03:58 PM
Well I now have Win 7 64bit installed :) Will be a while before I know if everything is working, but so far no problems.

Thanks all for you help and suggestions :D

Mike.

SolMiester
19-10-2009, 07:28 PM
Just a note...install Win 7 enterprise on a new hp6730b, didnt need any drivers as such to run...windows update as sorted finger print reader and web cam, docking station with external monitor, plus a couple of other non-mandatory devices, however still have 2 devices in device manager not happy!.
That's an excellent hit rate for any o/s....really liking the network environment catagories and lookups...typing on it from home on my only network right now!