PDA

View Full Version : help with WPA



King Krimson
13-10-2009, 07:29 PM
So... heres the problem.

I was trying to connect my beloved PSP to the modem, when it asked for a 'WPA'. I was told to look under the modem to find it and so i did however one small problem.

My dad said he had to have all those details changed or something and he hadn't written them down and doesn't have the information i need to set up a connection.

Is there any way i can find out my modem's WPA?

Any help would be appreciated.

Blam
13-10-2009, 07:31 PM
What you can do is to a reset-which will set everything back to defaults, then login with default details.

Whats the router modem number?

CliveM
13-10-2009, 07:32 PM
Log into the router and have a look there

Blam
13-10-2009, 07:36 PM
Log into the router and have a look there

I thought it said in his post that he had lost these details?

Or has he only lost the details for the WPA key?

In that case, on a computer connected to the network do the following:

1. Windows+R>cmd>ipconfig>hit enter

2. Note down the Default gateway

3. In your web browser, type the default gateway address and hit enter

If it asks for your details, try admin with no password, then admin for both username and password. Unless you've changed it to something you know.

4. Go to the wireless section and find the WPA key, and note it down.

Blam

King Krimson
13-10-2009, 07:38 PM
Sorry guys, i'm not the best at this stuff so please bare with me. :)

I am not sure where to find the router modem number. ^^;

How do i log into the router?

King Krimson
13-10-2009, 07:39 PM
I thought it said in his post that he had lost these details?

Or has he only lost the details for the WPA key?

In that case, on a computer connected to the network do the following:

1. Windows+R>cmd>ipconfig>hit enter

2. Note down the Default gateway

3. In your web browser, type the default gateway address and hit enter

If it asks for your details, try admin with no password, then admin for both username and password. Unless you've changed it to something you know.

4. Go to the wireless section and find the WPA key, and note it down.

Blam

Thankyou i shall give this a try. ^_^

Blam
13-10-2009, 07:39 PM
Sorry guys, i'm not the best at this stuff so please bare with me. :)

I am not sure where to find the router modem number. ^^;

How do i log into the router?

Should be on the bottom, or on the label.

King Krimson
13-10-2009, 07:46 PM
So i followed the instructions and went to the wireless section but it only told me the following.

Configuration


Interface Enabled:

Physical Address:

Network Name (SSID):

Interface Type:

Actual Speed:

Band:


Security


Allow New Devices: New stations are allowed (automatically)

Security Mode: WPA-PSK

King Krimson
13-10-2009, 07:47 PM
Should be on the bottom, or on the label.

Is it the Wireless Pin? or the SN? ^^;

Blam
13-10-2009, 07:50 PM
Is there are security tab?

I mean the model number:p(on the bottom)

King Krimson
13-10-2009, 08:00 PM
There is no security tab. :(
the only thing i can find to do with security is this:


Allow New Devices:

Security Mode:


The only thing i can see on the bottom is:


BULK:
MAC:
MODEM ACCESS:


SSID:
WEP (hex):
WPAA PSK:
WIRELESS PIN:

SN:

^^;;;

though there is also a green sticker that has a tick on it that says telepermit. ^^;

King Krimson
13-10-2009, 08:36 PM
Also according to this http://telecom.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1540

something should happen when i click Configuration.

But nothing happens. any ideas?

King Krimson
13-10-2009, 08:43 PM
Ah i have finally found it! thankyou for your help everyone.

Next time i will read instructions a bit more closely.

KarameaDave
13-10-2009, 08:44 PM
no you need to click on configure not configuration
edit: you beat me to it!