PDA

View Full Version : Graphics Card Compatibility

SmurfWorks
13-10-2009, 06:16 PM
Hey guys, I'm Smurf, New guy that's here to ask some help of you. So I've been on a mission for a little bit to get my computer upgraded for both work and entertainment purposes. I'm an aspiring web Developer so it's vital that I get my computer running smoothly. For the most part, my computer is optimum for web development, except when it comes to flash. Now, I've installed xp myself when I got this computer - so it's not cluttered with useless software and files, and is guarded by NOD32 and Spybot S&D (With Teatimer) so it's not a software issue.

So I looked into it perhaps being the video memory, running on standard onboard, so I went out and researched cards. Turns out, I need 1 single x16 slot on my motherboard for the card (Which I have) and a 500w psu and 1gb of ram. So I went out and upgraded my ol' 300 Watt psu to a 700w OCZ StealthXtreme. It's pretty quiet and I've seen a performance increase from it already. But still not enough.

Now my video card arrived recently, it's an XFX HD4870 1GB, which is the one that has the requirements above. Now the card itself says it requires a single x16 slot, which my mobo has, but it also says it supports PCI-E 2.0, which I do not have. Now I hooked it all in, and plugged in Both PCI-E power connectors, but the system did not post at all. I've already checked the bios to make sure it's graphics priority is PCI-E and it is, so I'm slowly running out of ideas. I think it might be the card, which I'll test later this week [Because i'm not gonna be paying $20 to a computer shop for something so simple]

But I'm just wondering if anyone knows what it could be - I've reseated my Ram and ordered a 4GB upgrade (from my 1GB) so it'll be more than enough.