PDA

View Full Version : Combining ADSL internet connections



stormdragon
13-10-2009, 01:35 PM
Hey Guys,

Any ideas on the best way to combine two ADSL2+ connections running off seperate phone lines, into one internet connection that will automatically load balance before heading into an ISA server.

Preferably not to expensive either if possible.

Cheers

wratterus
13-10-2009, 01:36 PM
A Linux box running squid should be able to do this, I'm not the one to ask about it though! :p

Someone will have more info about it.

stormdragon
13-10-2009, 01:40 PM
Thanks for the fast reply wrat. Had thought of something like a linux box but just unsure how easy it would be to setup and manage as we have only minimal linux knowledge.

Edit: Came across this (http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps9925/index.html) seems to kinda do what we need, don't the need VPN support though. With something like you would still need 2 seperate ADSL routers right?

wratterus
13-10-2009, 01:41 PM
;) Yeah it's not super technical once it's set up, but getting it set up and running smoothly would require a wee bit more than basic Linux knowledge.



Came across this (http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps9925/index.html) seems to kinda do what we need, don't the need VPN support though. With something like you would still need 2 seperate ADSL routers right?

That's an impressive Router, do you know how much one of those would set you back? Yeah it would requite two ADSL routers, but it looks like it would do what you want, and a heap more too!

inphinity
13-10-2009, 01:56 PM
Edit: Came across this (http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps9925/index.html) seems to kinda do what we need, don't the need VPN support though. With something like you would still need 2 seperate ADSL routers right?

Yes, you would need two DSL routers. Each WAN port on the RV042 connects to a LAN port on one of the DSL routers.
i.e. RV042WAN1 -> DSLRouter01
RV042WAN2 -> DSLRouter02

stormdragon
13-10-2009, 02:02 PM
Cheers for the replies, only about $340 from ascent (http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=335424).

Thought we'd still need them, I assume it wouldn't affect users being able to remotely access our terminal server though?

wratterus
13-10-2009, 02:06 PM
Cheers for the replies, only about $340 from ascent (http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=335424).

Thought we'd still need them, I assume it wouldn't affect users being able to remotely access our terminal server though?

That's not bad at all. The firewall/VPN side of things would need to be configured right, but it's got all the necessary features there that's for sure. If you decided to go for it I'd be very interested to know how it all goes. Either way it's going to be a lot less painful and probably cheaper than setting up a Linux box, far less to potentially go wrong.

stormdragon
13-10-2009, 02:09 PM
Awesome I like the idea of a hardware solution over software, less to screw up :)

Erayd
13-10-2009, 03:23 PM
Just be aware that unless you get support for it on the ISP side (unlikely unless you're paying megabucks), you won't be able to use channel bonding, and will therefore have two pipes to the net, each with its own public IP address, rather than one faster pipe made by bonding the two DSL lines together into a single logical link.

This means that your maximum per-connection speed will be the speed of *one* of the lines, not the combined speed of both. The multiple-IP thing will also cause problems with some websites which filter traffic based on the client IP for added security.

inphinity
13-10-2009, 04:01 PM
Just be aware that unless you get support for it on the ISP side (unlikely unless you're paying megabucks), you won't be able to use channel bonding, and will therefore have two pipes to the net, each with its own public IP address, rather than one faster pipe made by bonding the two DSL lines together into a single logical link.

This means that your maximum per-connection speed will be the speed of *one* of the lines, not the combined speed of both. The multiple-IP thing will also cause problems with some websites which filter traffic based on the client IP for added security.

This. It also means that, if you dump all your remote users (Terminal server, VPN, whatever) using the same IP, that all that traffic will go through ONE of your two connections.

The RV042 load balancing works great for multiple outbound-initiated connections (lots of users browsing the web, email, etc) but - without ISP support as above, for inbound, it can't do much. It will still take inbound traffic in to account when directing new outbound connections, though.

Maybe it's worth looking at a higher-spec connection than just DSL if you really need the performance?

Erayd
13-10-2009, 04:28 PM
This. It also means that, if you dump all your remote users (Terminal server, VPN, whatever) using the same IP, that all that traffic will go through ONE of your two connections.

The RV042 load balancing works great for multiple outbound-initiated connections (lots of users browsing the web, email, etc) but - without ISP support as above, for inbound, it can't do much. It will still take inbound traffic in to account when directing new outbound connections, though.
DNS round-robin load sharing is probably the easiest way to balance incoming traffic between the two IPs.

stormdragon
13-10-2009, 04:51 PM
Thanks for the replies guys

Was thinking of having the connections with separate ISP's, both would have static IP addresses. Could you not just route all remote terminal connections through one connection?

Don't have the money for anything faster at the moment.

Erayd
13-10-2009, 07:42 PM
Could you not just route all remote terminal connections through one connection?Yep, as long as you don't mind all your terminal connections being limited to a single DSL line.

stormdragon
13-10-2009, 08:11 PM
Yea that would be fine.

Any other suggestions on how to combine two connections would be appreciated though.

What about something for ISA? I keep coming across references to Rain Connect, but this no longer exists.