PDA

View Full Version : Boot disk to restore system

Cuchulain
12-10-2009, 08:46 AM
Hi, Can anyone give me some advice on how to restore my hard drive after I have managed to corrupt the system. I was getting my computer ready for passing on to someone else by running a disk eraser programme to clear some personal files of the system, and I have inadvertently done the same to my whole drive. Upon start up I am prompted to use a boot disk, which I do not have, though I do have the original Windows XP CD.
Any advice would be welcome, just be gentle with me I am not that tech savvy.

nofam
12-10-2009, 08:52 AM
What exactly does the prompt say?

McRuff
12-10-2009, 08:55 AM
If you have erased the disk there is no way to recover it. That is the whole point of disk erasing programs.

You will need to do a fresh install of a operating system on it.

Blam
12-10-2009, 11:54 AM
Did you erase without, or with passes(pattern overwrites)?

Cuchulain
14-10-2009, 08:48 AM
Sorry, you have lost me there.

Cuchulain
14-10-2009, 08:52 AM
What exactly does the prompt say?
Message reads, "Windows could not start because of a computer disc hardware configuration problem. Could not read from boot disc. Check boot path and disc hardware"

Cuchulain
14-10-2009, 08:56 AM
If you have erased the disk there is no way to recover it. That is the whole point of disk erasing programs.

You will need to do a fresh install of a operating system on it.

Thanks for the reply. As for installing a fresh operating system. I have tried running my Windows XP disc, but nothing shows on the screen, so I am a little lost as to re-load the system.

Blam
14-10-2009, 09:05 AM
Sorry, you have lost me there.

If it was just a format then you *might* be able to recover the info. If you did it with secure deletion, then you'll probably need to take it to a professional..

inphinity
14-10-2009, 09:41 AM