PDA

View Full Version : browsers in vista wont load pages



williamF
03-10-2009, 02:45 PM
i have a bit of a problem, it seemed to happen just after a reboot and update, but it wont load any web pages including resistorhelper (my home webserver) in ie and firefox however windows mail and messenger work fine as well as ping. hosts file looks clean with spybot's list redirecting gnarly sites to localhost, im VNC'ing into my TV computer just to post this:badpc:

Speedy Gonzales
03-10-2009, 02:54 PM
Sounds like something is blocking it. i. ie: a proxy, firewall. or a program running in the background maybe. One of those antispyware programs. Since email, and MSN works. Altho if you were using a proxy, MSN probably wouldnt work. Could be the DNS server ips youre using

williamF
03-10-2009, 03:18 PM
turns out trend micro's update botched up, fully exiting allowed pages to load

williamF
03-10-2009, 03:30 PM
kicked trend micro in the cods, everything is ok, im usually quite a wise browser and dont get anything in the way of adware and malware anyway

Blam
03-10-2009, 07:26 PM
Replace it with Avast!