PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible?



whellington
28-09-2009, 10:08 AM
Is it possible to have 2 wired connections in 2 different rooms without routing the cables to the other room etc? I have 2 different modems (dlink and thomson), and 1 switch. Cheers

wratterus
28-09-2009, 10:11 AM
If I understand this right... you want to get a cable to another room without running a cable. Uh.. no? :p

What I think you want to know is this... :D

You can only have one ADSL router running on a phone line at one time. You can have a couple of ADSL routers, but only one can be plugged into the phone line at any one time. You can definitely have more than one phone line onto your property, but you have to pay extra for line rental and ADSL too.

Have you considered setting up a wireless network?

fred_fish
28-09-2009, 10:12 AM
Certainly!
You just need another phone line & ADSL account :)

I have seen this sold to ppl by telecom when they have asked how to have 2 pc's on the net.

inphinity
28-09-2009, 11:36 AM
Any particular reason you can't just use a wireless connection if running a cable is not something you want to do?

wratterus
28-09-2009, 12:31 PM
Another option is EoP.

http://hairy.geek.nz/2008/03/27/netcomm-np200av-review/

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=3691

whellington
28-09-2009, 01:03 PM
Do you know what stores sells those i've tried DSE? I don't like ordering online

wratterus
28-09-2009, 01:07 PM
You're safer buying from ComputerLounge than a toaster shop. ;) I'm pretty sure DSE have their own branded ones (XH6839 and XH6838) but I can't find one for sale anywhere, and I'm pretty sure they are the crappy 14mbps one.

Do you live in Wellington? You could organize a pickup from Ascent.

http://ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=348019

whellington
28-09-2009, 01:24 PM
Meh i just read some reviews and the Eop doesnt work on some power boards.

Would this work?

wratterus
28-09-2009, 01:27 PM
Yeah that would work fine. I assume one of your ADSL Routers has a 4 port switch built in, so things would go like this? ...

Edit: Just re-looked at the diagram - is there an extension cable from the phone jack to the ADSL Router? it's much better to have the ADSL Router plugged directly into the wall. Phone extension cables aren't dear, you'd be better off picking up one of those and keeping the ADSL Router right by the wall.

inphinity
28-09-2009, 01:38 PM
Be aware that using extensions etc can, in some cases, degrade signal quality for DSL. Is it a hassle to sit the router next to the jack and just have an extension out to the phone?

whellington
28-09-2009, 02:40 PM
Yeah that would work fine. I assume one of your ADSL Routers has a 4 port switch built in, so things would go like this? ...

Edit: Just re-looked at the diagram - is there an extension cable from the phone jack to the ADSL Router? it's much better to have the ADSL Router plugged directly into the wall. Phone extension cables aren't dear, you'd be better off picking up one of those and keeping the ADSL Router right by the wall.

So is this better? Damn 30m ethernet cable at DSE is $70

http://www.dse.co.nz/dse.shop/4ac0220e00da466c2741c0a87f3b06b8/Product/View/XH3352

wratterus
28-09-2009, 02:42 PM
Yeah that's perfect.

WHAT??? :eek: Thieving bastards. That's ludicrous, they must be putting 300% or 400% on that.

http://www.dse.co.nz/dse.shop/4ac0220e00da466c2741c0a87f3b06b8/Product/View/XH3354

Yet an Xover cable is $40 :confused: Do you have a tech/phone/tv installer localish to you? You could buy the 30m xover and put new ends on it, although most switches these days are smart enough that you could use the Xover and it would be fine.

pctek
28-09-2009, 02:52 PM
Damn 30m ethernet cable at DSE is $70

http://www.dse.co.nz/dse.shop/4ac0220e00da466c2741c0a87f3b06b8/Product/View/XH3352

My buy: RJ45M-RJ45M NETWORK CABLE 30M $17.13

whellington
28-09-2009, 02:57 PM
My buy: RJ45M-RJ45M NETWORK CABLE 30M $17.13

PMed

inphinity
28-09-2009, 03:01 PM
Can get a 30M network cable for like $25 - $30 or so retail. Most of the major retail chains have huge markups on these sort of items.

whellington
28-09-2009, 03:30 PM
Is this is a 30M network cable? http://ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=377120

wratterus
28-09-2009, 03:32 PM
Is this is a 30M network cable? http://ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=377120

Yeah get that.

maccrazy
28-09-2009, 05:40 PM
1-day (http://www.1-day.co.nz/) has powerline ethernet adaptors today for $129.99 which might be something to look at.