PDA

View Full Version : Questions about CPU's

NZDragon
21-09-2009, 04:03 PM
I'm looking to buy a faster CPU for my Dell Optiplex GX260 (Desktop Version), but I'm new to computer upgrades, so I'm not sure if I have to follow specific "rules"... I don't wanna have everything blow up on me, so I have a few questions. :P

First of all, when buying a new CPU (my current one is an Intel Pentium 4, 1.8Ghz), would I absolutely have to get a new fan for it as well? Or will the original fan work just fine?

Second, will my computer only accept certain types of processors? I've looked up the specifications for my computer, and it says "Microprocessor type: Intel® Pentium® 4 and Celeron™ microprocessors"... does this mean any make of these brands would be compatible?

Metla
21-09-2009, 04:13 PM
Couldn't see any compatible cpu's on pricespy, Your best bet is to upgrade the entire system.

Blam
21-09-2009, 04:18 PM
TradeMe.

All you could do is upgrade to a higher clocked P4..

wratterus
21-09-2009, 04:18 PM
Nah the PCs too old. Only thing is to find a faster P4 second hand, (probably socket 478) but it's probably not worth the hassle. You'll also need to look at the motherboard specs and see what size CPU it can take, a lot of those old dells have some super cruddy mobos in them. If you need more grunt you'll need a whole new PC, those Optiplex cases are near to impossible to upgrade.

wainuitech
21-09-2009, 04:19 PM
One thing you have to look at as well is the socket - just a guess, but when you say its a Intel Pentium 4, its a good chance its a socket 478.

If so you may be hard pressed finding a new one these days - metla's suggestion is prob the better option, unless you can locate the correct CPU. ,

NZDragon
21-09-2009, 04:19 PM
Couldn't see any compatible cpu's on pricespy

... but how can I tell if one's compatible or not? :(

Metla
21-09-2009, 04:20 PM
I wouldn't trust any second hand cpu on trademe.

Speedy Gonzales
21-09-2009, 04:22 PM