PDA

View Full Version : Modems



Oose
17-09-2009, 04:08 PM
Hi

Are the wireless modems that Telecom/Vodafone or whomever supply 'locked' or restricted in someway so that they can only be used with an accompanying plan from the same provider?

Cheers

wratterus
17-09-2009, 04:09 PM
Not at all. They work fine with any NZ DSL provider. Just put the different username and password in, Bob's your uncle and Fanny's your aunt.

Oose
17-09-2009, 04:49 PM
Excellent, thanks Watterus

wratterus
17-09-2009, 04:51 PM
No worries. Knowing Telecom they will probably find some way of locking them down with 3rd party firmware or some such thing one day, even then a firmware update would sort it out. Still, we need not worry about such things yet. :p

FoxyMX
17-09-2009, 05:31 PM
A while ago I was trying to set up a modem provided by Xtra and could not get into it to change the settings. It was some weeks or months later that I read on here the trick on how to get in as there was nothing on Xtra's website. It appeared that Xtra had somehow locked it up to prevent changes and/or the modem being used with other ISPs.