PDA

View Full Version : Network sharing

bk T
17-09-2009, 11:55 AM
Just bought an external HDD and plugged into my notebook (XP Media Centre) which is connected (wireless) to my home network. My desktop PC (Vista Ultimate) is also connected to the same Linksys router. We have no problem in Internet, printer and file sharing between the notebook and desktop.

When I share this newly connected external HDD - F: , it looks fine initially, I can 'see' this newly connected F: from my desktop PC, but I can't access the file in this drive with the following error:

"The drive is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permission"

Where and how can I set the access permission for this drive?

manu
17-09-2009, 01:26 PM
I am no expert but you might wish to think about with thses sorts of problems:

Which user on the machine 'owns' the Ext HDD/device/folder and which group of computers on the network does it belong to?
(eg the ubiquitous MS "Workgroup" or sometimes for HP machines "mshome" )

Also, what settings has that user made for the device/folder?

If the current user of a machine doesn't "own" the device then they aren't allowed to mess with its critical parameters like sharing.
Similarly if computer X is in the "Workgroup" group then it doesn't automatically get to see all the folders/drives the other computer Z in the "mshome' group for example but it still should show the fact that group "mshome" exists.
(Things are 99 times worse for people having "Domains" - steer clear of these if you are non-business networking etc)

The fact that you have wireless networing system shouldn't matter at all - only if it is a the wasp's nipples sort of router which can be tweaked to restrict this/that and the other groups/networks/web stuff. These things are set to deny everything from startup!

In XP there is a "security' tab when you |Right click folder/drive/device|.