PDA

View Full Version : How would I allow access to my server over the internet?



nedkelly
13-09-2009, 12:45 PM
Hey as some of you might know from my previous thread I have just set a server up. And now I am wondering is there any way to allow access to my server over the internet?
So what I would like to be able to do is enter in a UNC path on the client pc in another location and then I can login and access data on the server's hard drives.
Is this possible?

Speedy Gonzales
13-09-2009, 01:02 PM
You should have continued from your other thread (http://pressf1.co.nz/showthread.php?t=103111) otherwise it'll get too complicated with too many posts

nedkelly
13-09-2009, 01:16 PM
sorry will do then. Did that once and continued on and got told that I should have started a new thread.
Any chance a mod can delete this thread?

wainuitech
13-09-2009, 01:54 PM
have a read of Google Search - 1st document (http://www.google.co.nz/#hl=en&q=Connecting+to+server+2003+over+internet&meta=&fp=be792f232dd2f0aa)- its a MS Word Doc, it gives you the basic's of the server setup.

Edited: This article as well (http://articles.techrepublic.com.com/5100-10878_11-6155394.html)

Another way if it doesn't work is to use something like TeamViewer (http://www.teamviewer.com/index.aspx) - load it on the server to run all the time - set up your own password, then on the client PC, load in Team Viewer - conenct that way - to open documents etc its liek sitting in fro of the server - if you wanted to transfer documents, TV has the option to do that as well.

Thats one of the cool things I like about WHS - the remote access from anywhere in the word, no special software on the client required - simply a web browser.

gary67
13-09-2009, 02:04 PM
Only thing I'm finding with team viewer is that sometimes my server which is an old P4 running XP (its for backups only) is that sometimes it locks up especially if the firewall wants permission to run something. Have ZA on it, thinking of going back to the Windows firewall for a while see if it still happens. One day will upgrade to WHS

nedkelly
13-09-2009, 02:11 PM
hmm wondered why nobody was continuing on with my older thread like speedy said they are all here. wainuitech I am running 2003 server, and my mate wants to access it and dont really want to give him my teamviewer password. Thought you had to pay for teamviewer for servers?

nedkelly
13-09-2009, 02:12 PM
wow had a look at that .doc file wainuitech and wow. Reading through it I think it is aimed at companies that have more than one server

SolMiester
13-09-2009, 02:48 PM
Just try try RDP as admin.....use DDNS on your router and port forward to the server...

Blam
13-09-2009, 04:17 PM
+1 for RDP!

There are a few security concerns, but it should be fine anyways..

Chilling_Silence
13-09-2009, 05:49 PM
+1 for RDP

Setup a VPN Server, easiest / best way, as XP / Vista / 7 all have a built-in method to connect to it !

inphinity
14-09-2009, 08:58 AM
RRAS + PPTP VPN.