PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 won't boot up



Richardsmith888
12-09-2009, 05:53 AM
Hi: I installed Win 7 Ultimate on my Win xp computer but it will only bootup Win XP. What do I need to do to fix this so it will boot up into Win 7 or a choice to bootup Win 7 or Win XP? Thanks for your time.

Speedy Gonzales
12-09-2009, 08:52 AM
Did you do a clean install? Is the hdd partitioned??

art789
12-09-2009, 10:17 AM
did you download the windows 7 operating system from the Microsoft website or is this a cd of your own ? All i can suggest right now without knowing much of your info is to do a clean install , when it gives you the option on which to partition to install win 7 on just chose the one you have been using. Usually its the one that has the most space used up. Hope this helps. Sorry if it doesnt. Good Luck!:)

Richardsmith888
12-09-2009, 10:38 AM
Yes this is a cd of my own and I have done what you suggested but when it is finished installing files it reboots and goes into Win XP. How can I get it to finish the installation and boot to Win 7? Should I try BootMagic?

snoopy
12-09-2009, 10:47 AM
Try the startup repair procedure shown here

http://windows7.windowsreinstall.com/windows7ultimaterepairguides/

Richardsmith888
12-09-2009, 12:09 PM
Did you do a clean install? Is the hdd partitioned??
Yes I did a clean install and formatted the hd and partitioned it with Partition Magic

wainuitech
12-09-2009, 12:36 PM
Yes I did a clean install and formatted the hd and partitioned it with Partition MagicIt should have booted Ok then --where you wrote:
Yes this is a cd of my own What version of 7 is it - Eg: RC or RTM --- and where did you get it from.

whellington
12-09-2009, 01:23 PM
If you installed it on another drive make the drive the first boot device in BIOS. I have XP and win7 on my current system and it boots to a black screen saying

Choose operating system:
Earlier version of windows
Windows 7

Blam
12-09-2009, 02:00 PM
You shouldn't need to do anything...as W7 should automatically set up the bootloader for you..

Try running startup repair, then adding in XP later(if it doesn't do it automatically.