PDA

View Full Version : CAT5 - 568A or 568B?



wratterus
09-09-2009, 05:04 PM
What's the most widely used these days for home/business applications? I have always used B for wiring up straight through network cables, about to do a bunch of wall jacks, just wondering if B is still the best option to use. :punk

Cheers.

CYaBro
09-09-2009, 05:10 PM
B used to be the one to use but A is now the preferred way to do it.
I've always used A anyway but pretty much every site/house I've been to in the last few years have been 568A.

All the patch cables I've bought in the last year or so have been 568A as well and they always used to be 568B.

wratterus
09-09-2009, 05:15 PM
Hmm, ok. Just looking at a heap of new Digitus straight-thru cables (.5m to 100m) here and they are all wired to the B standard. It shouldn't really matter which is used, I would go for B because that's the way all the network cables here are wired, but it shouldn't matter either way? I'd like to wire them to the 'current' standard, if that's A then A it is. :p

CYaBro
09-09-2009, 05:22 PM
Hmm, ok. Just looking at a heap of new Digitus straight-thru cables (.5m to 100m) here and they are all wired to the B standard. It shouldn't really matter which is used, I would go for B because that's the way all the network cables here are wired, but it shouldn't matter either way? I'd like to wire them to the 'current' standard, if that's A then A it is. :p

It doesn't really matter how you wire them as long as you use the same on both ends of the cable :thumbs: otherwise you make a crossover cable :dogeye:

I use Dynamix cables and they are all 568A :lol:

Poppa John
09-09-2009, 05:23 PM
For my education...what is the difference between A & B. (apart from the alphabet!!) PJ

wratterus
09-09-2009, 05:25 PM
For my education...what is the difference between A & B. (apart from the alphabet!!) PJ:p

http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/phonegeek_2070_3167443


It doesn't really matter how you wire them as long as you use the same on both ends of the cable :thumbs: otherwise you make a crossover cable :dogeye:

I use Dynamix cables and they are all 568A :lol:

:lol:

OK, thanks for that. Interesting that both standards are still being widely used.

Edit - Just found a Dynamix cable and guess what - it's A.

Poppa John
09-09-2009, 05:40 PM
So why is the colour coding of the cores different. I dont see the point? PJ

bob_doe_nz
09-09-2009, 05:46 PM
So why is the colour coding of the cores different. I dont see the point? PJ

Neither do I. Section 7.1 http://www.ablecables.com.au/568avb.htm

gary67
09-09-2009, 07:06 PM
So without knowing it I have been wiring my house in A cool

nedkelly
09-09-2009, 07:11 PM
One is cross over wiring and one is straight through (Patch).
OOPS!!! thats 568B.
http://www.duxcw.com/faq/network/diff568ab.htm
This is the difference between A and B

wainuitech
09-09-2009, 07:28 PM
I've always used B - Mainly because I have it memerized - at the end of the day , if its staright through it doesn't matter what order they are in as long as both ends are the same.

BUT it does pay to stick to industry standards other wise it can make fault finding "interesting" and when running line tests if something is wrong it can be a bloody nightmare to fix, esp when using a Cable tester (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Cable_Tester.jpg) - saves heaps of trouble if done correctly. ( I got a couple of them) :thumbs:

Been to a few places like that no particular standard - ended up cutting off the RJ45 and rewiring. Just Another Picture (http://www.google.co.nz/imgres?imgurl=http://www.patraswireless.net/tutorial/basic%2520tutorial/tut-equipemt/cable_utp_clip_image001.gif&imgrefurl=http://www.patraswireless.net/tutorial/basic%2520tutorial/tut-equipemt/cable_utp.htm&h=250&w=400&sz=13&tbnid) to show the codes - very easy to read.:)

bob_doe_nz
09-09-2009, 07:39 PM
I've always used B - Mainly because I have it memorized

Same here.

gary67
10-09-2009, 06:46 AM
I have a picture of A printed as my brain doesn't always work

wratterus
10-09-2009, 11:30 AM
Well looks like the chappy who wired up the phone also did a couple of Ethernet cable jacks, he used A, I will use A from now on I'd say. :thumbs:

Erayd
10-09-2009, 11:51 AM
I've always used B - Mainly because I have it memerized
x3 :thumbs:

Although "swap the green & orange pairs" (for A) isn't too hard to remember either.