PDA

View Full Version : Dreaded BSOD



Phil B
03-09-2009, 09:12 PM
Just put together a pc I want to use for a media centre
Asus P5QL-EM Motherboard
E7500 Core 2 Duo
Apacer PC2-6400 CL5 Ram
500Gig Samsung HD
Asus DVD Writer
350 Watt Power supply that came with the case.

I want to use W7 on it. It gets half way through the install & then gives me the BSOD telling me that windows has shut down so it doesn't damage the computer.
I tried to install Ubuntu 9.04 on it & it installed & works ok, but I don't want that. Just for good measure I tried Fedora 11 & that spat the dummy at the end of installing Anaconda.
I tried another HD, no change
I tried removing 1 stick of ram, no change
Swapped it for the other stick, no change,
Tried a different ram slot, no change
The ram is good, it was in this computer until a couple of weeks ago.
Installed a video card, no change. (the board has on board video)
My suspicions are either a dodgy power supply, or a faulty motherboard. Trouble is the power supply is not standard ATX sized.. Although I could externally try a known good one.
Any other thoughts??
Funny how Ubuntu installs ok.

gary67
03-09-2009, 09:13 PM
Try the PSU first sounds plausible

Blam
03-09-2009, 09:20 PM
What is the error code and/or file/driver mentioned in the BSOD?

I agree with Gary. Most PSUs that come with cases are pretty crap, and 350w is bar mininum for yoru setup.

Blam

Speedy Gonzales
03-09-2009, 09:20 PM
Yup get something better than a 350w PSU. Should have brought the case without the PSU. It would have been cheaper. Thats what I do.

Agent_24
03-09-2009, 09:52 PM
350 Watt Power supply that came with the case.

What brand is it? If it's a cheap case it's a cheap PSU and likely to be rubbish. Even if replacing it doesn't fix your problem, at least you will have a reliable PSU.

What BSOD are you getting?

I know you said the RAM is good but have you tried running the Windows Memory Diagnostic from the DVD or Memtest (should be on the Ubuntu CD)

Phil B
03-09-2009, 10:21 PM
Sorry for the delay, I just had to watch shameless. The BEST show on the telly by miles.

Tried a different PSU & no change.

Tech info on BSOD
0x0000008E, (0xC0000005, 0x8D9574848, 0X896FB898,
0X00000000)
Win32k.sys Address 8D957848 base at 8D890000
Datestamp - 49EE8DCB

Speedy Gonzales
03-09-2009, 10:31 PM
Thats whats crashing it win32k.sys. WHERE did the copy of win7 come from?

Phil B
03-09-2009, 10:32 PM
MS Website

Speedy Gonzales
03-09-2009, 10:34 PM
Is it the RTM, RC or beta? If its the RTM, I would try another DVD to burn it to

Phil B
03-09-2009, 10:34 PM
RC

Speedy Gonzales
03-09-2009, 10:38 PM
I would try burning the iso to another blank dvd. Dont use an RW. What version of the BIOS is it on? It looks like you need 0412 to support that CPU

Phil B
03-09-2009, 10:40 PM
I will.. Just trying to find the disc that cam with the mag this month.. It's in my random magazine disc pile

Phil B
06-09-2009, 11:33 AM
Tried a different disc. No difference
Memtested the memory, it got 45% through the test & showed over 600,000 faults, swapped to different know good memory & got the same. Put the ram in this computer & tested it & all 3 sticks tested fault free.. I told the place I got the board from what's happened etc etc & they're going test it as well & get me a replacement

Agent_24
06-09-2009, 01:44 PM
I wonder if it could be a memory incompatibility or configuration error eg: wrong timings etc

Sometimes the latest BIOS solves memory problems, and like Speedy said, you need a certain BIOS version or higher to support your CPU properly (maybe that could also cause errors)

Interestingly enough it seems to have some bad reviews about memory compatibility on newegg

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E16813131332