PDA

View Full Version : Excel forumla help

DeSade
03-09-2009, 12:49 PM
I am a complete n00b with forumla in Excel so forgive me if this is a easy question.

I have a master sheet that takes a simple sum value from 20 or so work sheets and adds them up.

I would like to add another filter to this but not sure how.

=SUM('sheet 1:sheet 20'!F7)

That is how the code is now and that works fine for a overall picture but there is another field on the sheets that I want to work as a filter so

if B7 = "name" then run the sum above

The "name" will have two possible variables

I hope I have explained this well enough.

nofam
03-09-2009, 01:01 PM
Sounds like you need an IF statement:

=IF(B7="NAME",SUM('sheet 1:sheet 20'!F7),0)

This evaluates B7 to see if the word NAME exists in it. If it does, then it sums your range, and if it doesn't it puts 0 in the cell.

Does that make sense?

the_bogan
03-09-2009, 01:02 PM
Have alook at the SUMIF() function, in the help.

DeSade
03-09-2009, 01:20 PM
Sounds like you need an IF statement:

=IF(B7="NAME",SUM('sheet 1:sheet 20'!F7),0)

This evaluates B7 to see if the word NAME exists in it. If it does, then it sums your range, and if it doesn't it puts 0 in the cell.

Does that make sense?

Thanks for that, it looks like it would do the job but its not summing the numbers from F7 on each sheet

I forgot some crucial information
B7 is also across sheet 1 to sheet 20

I tried this but there is something still wrong with it.

=SUMIF('sheet 1:sheet 20'!B7, "name",'sheet 1:sheet 2'!F7)

the_bogan
03-09-2009, 02:20 PM
If you name your ranges, you can use the sumif function. (Just tried a brief attempt, and it worked okay)

Group the sheets 1 through to 20.

Select the cells in column B, (e.g B1:B500) name them (e.g NAMECHECK)
Do the same with column F, (I named them WHATTOSUM)

Ungroup the sheets.

Go to the sheet you want your formula in, the formula would look like =SUMIF(NAMECHECK,"bob",WHATTOSUM)