PDA

View Full Version : Assembling a Computer.

Mister
01-09-2009, 01:20 AM
Hello all, again.

So I ordered my computer parts, and they are due tomorow, but I am very 'scared' to attempt to put it together, as it is my first build. Is there any tips, or things I should know before assembling? I've been browsing for guides all day, but I don't think I trust them all.

:thanks

Oh, and if it helps, these are my parts.

Aerocool Vx-9 ATX Mid Tower Case, Black

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33 GHz, 1333MHz FSB, Socket 775, Retail pack with fan, Low Power

Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS Hard Disk Drive, 500GB, 7200rpm, 16MB Cache, SATA-2

LG Electronics GH22NS50 DVD Writer, DVD 16R/22W/8RW, CD 48R/48W/32RW, Internal, SATA, Black, OEM

OCZ Platinum Kit, 2x2GB, DDR3-1600, PC3-12800, CL7, DIMM, XTC Heat Spreader

Asus M4A785TD-M EVO Motherboard, Socket AM3, 4xDIMM, DDR3, PCIe-16, 2xPCI, 1xPCIe-1, 12xUSB2, Firewire, Audio, Video, 1xATA, 6xSATA, RAID, M-ATX, DVI, HDMI

Gigabyte GV-N26OC-896I Video Card, GeForce GTX 260, 896MB, DDR3, PCIe-16, DVI, SLI ready, HDMI

ST Lab M-114 Sound card, 4.0, PCI

Genius KB110 Keyboard, USB, Black

ViewSonic VX1940w Monitor, 19" LCD, 1680x1050, DVI, Black

Genius GM56PCI-LA Modem, 56K, PCI

D-Link DFE-528TX Ethernet Adapter, 10/100 Mbps, PCI

Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus, 460W ATX PSU, SLI Ready, Black

xmojo1
01-09-2009, 01:36 AM
When you've assembled all the parts and are ready for first boot, don't put the case sides on just yet, first boot rarely goes trouble-free :D

I remember the time 2 years ago when I was in your position: constructing a PC with brand-new parts. And would you believe it, the computer didn't start up at all. In the end, it came down to a dead motherboard, even though it was brand-new :horrified.