PDA

View Full Version : The 'Upgrade'



CaptainVincent
30-08-2009, 01:26 PM
It is time for an upgrade.

Nvidia has served me well in the past (Fx5200 < maybe not, 7600GT OC, 8800GTS G80 and 8800GS G92)

But this time, I want a 4850. Why? DirectX 10.1 (So I can brag about the gimmick to my friends) It's a great, cheap and dual fanned card

I'm looking to buy these
Generic 2GB DDR2-800 PC2-6400 Desktop Memory
Palit ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB DDR3 PCI-E Graphic Card
AMD 64 X2 7750 2.7GHz 3MB Cache With OEM Fan and Heatsink
Western Digital Caviar 320GB SATA 7200RPM Hard Drive
ECS A740GM-M AM2+ mATX AMD740G Motherboard
Raidmax Panther Mini Tower Case (Black), 450W PSU
ASUS DRW-20B1ST 22x dvd writer

I used to run a 8800GTS + 5200 X2 on a 400W (only had molex too) just fine so that should be good.

I can get that for around $700 new.

Just two questions =).

1. Because the CPU is only at 2.7Ghz and I do not want to overclock should I get the standard edition (Non OC'd edition) of the 4850.

2. Will the card fit in the case (It holds mATX and full sized ATX)

Cheers guys, I love this forum.

Blam
30-08-2009, 01:39 PM
ECS motherboards=:xmouth:

And tbe bundled 450w raidmax PSU will not be reliable....

And yes. The card will most probably fit in the case. Its not very big.

Blam

CaptainVincent
30-08-2009, 01:50 PM
Oh, Have you had some bad experiences with them?

I don't think I should worry about the power supply though, I've had sub generic 400W PSU's powering old Dual cores with the power starving G80's

CaptainVincent
30-08-2009, 02:35 PM
Could anyone tell me about there ECS motherboard experiences. Does ECS make you want to ESC or is this a good price/standard performance mobo. Cheers.

Speedy Gonzales
30-08-2009, 02:40 PM
Most people probably wont tell you what they think of ECS mobos. Since noone uses them

Erayd
30-08-2009, 03:40 PM
And there's definitely a reason nobody uses them. Same goes for RaidMax power supplies.

I'd strongly recommend you shell out a bit more and get decent components.

pctek
30-08-2009, 03:42 PM
Palit ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB DDR3 PCI-E Graphic Card
AMD 64 X2 7750 2.7GHz 3MB Cache With OEM Fan and Heatsink

ECS A740GM-M AM2+ mATX AMD740G Motherboard
Raidmax Panther Mini Tower Case (Black), 450W PSU

.

No.

Palit sucks. High failure rate.
Stick with ASUS or Gigabyte.

ECS sucks even more, I'd rate this as the worst motherboard in existence.

ASUS or Gigabyte again.

And really, the 4850 is great, but AMD for gaming? AMD lost it some time ago and I wouldn't use anything other than Intel in a serious gaming PC now.


The case is OK, whatever personal preference you have but do NOT use it's PSU. You can get the Raidmax cases without bundled PSU.
Stick to Antec, Enermax or Corsair for reliable PSUs.

CaptainVincent
30-08-2009, 08:45 PM
AMD + ATI Bro. AMD = Dirt Cheap, AMD Mobo's = Dirt Cheap

=).

Erayd
30-08-2009, 08:47 PM
And when your cheap junk fails?

Sweep
30-08-2009, 09:14 PM
AMD + ATI Bro. AMD = Dirt Cheap, AMD Mobo's = Dirt Cheap

=).

You probably don't need to care since you play games using a console do you not?

Personally I prefer to get good reliable parts the first time for my PC and also others that I make for other people. Less hassle in the long run.

CaptainVincent
30-08-2009, 10:41 PM
And when your cheap junk fails?

Hope it fails within 12 months, send it in and get a new model :nerd:

Blam
30-08-2009, 11:46 PM
Hope it fails within 12 months, send it in and get a new model :nerd:

I hope you backup.

toonttm
04-09-2009, 04:54 AM
#1, you got 2GB ram, you need 3Gb for Vista (anything over 3Gb is not accessed)
#2 great card but it is 512Mb, why?? if you gonna upgrade go for 1Gb on card...simple
#3 you went AMD (the gamers friend?), I avoid, nothing I know wrong just i like intel.
#4 what slots does that motherboard have? yes 4850 is a fantastic card (big ups) but do you want to configure/crossfire 2 later? so how many PCI-E you got?
#5 screw that dude, great card, your 450W PSU ain't gonna run it, simple..get yourself at least 750W (from a 'good brand') if not 1000W.
#6 Trust me, once you start building a system (then update certain cards that don't do as you want) 2 things will hold you back. 1) slots...easy....2) PSU..expensive
:) oh, and if you soend money...don't buy from the internet...$20 saved here costs you many dollars later

Blam
04-09-2009, 09:36 AM
#1, you got 2GB ram, you need 3Gb for Vista (anything over 3Gb is not accessed)
#2 great card but it is 512Mb, why?? if you gonna upgrade go for 1Gb on card...simple
#3 you went AMD (the gamers friend?), I avoid, nothing I know wrong just i like intel.
#4 what slots does that motherboard have? yes 4850 is a fantastic card (big ups) but do you want to configure/crossfire 2 later? so how many PCI-E you got?
#5 screw that dude, great card, your 450W PSU ain't gonna run it, simple..get yourself at least 750W (from a 'good brand') if not 1000W.
#6 Trust me, once you start building a system (then update certain cards that don't do as you want) 2 things will hold you back. 1) slots...easy....2) PSU..expensive
:) oh, and if you soend money...don't buy from the internet...$20 saved here costs you many dollars later

Why do you say that 2gb is not enough? 2gb is enough for Vista to run just fine.

VRAM does not make that much of a difference unless you have a very large high res monitor. Amount of VRAM does not determine the speed of a Video Card!

Crossfire is not worth it. You'd be better off upgrading single cards.

Blam

CaptainVincent
05-09-2009, 04:21 PM
#1, you got 2GB ram, you need 3Gb for Vista (anything over 3Gb is not accessed)
#2 great card but it is 512Mb, why?? if you gonna upgrade go for 1Gb on card...simple
#3 you went AMD (the gamers friend?), I avoid, nothing I know wrong just i like intel.
#4 what slots does that motherboard have? yes 4850 is a fantastic card (big ups) but do you want to configure/crossfire 2 later? so how many PCI-E you got?
#5 screw that dude, great card, your 450W PSU ain't gonna run it, simple..get yourself at least 750W (from a 'good brand') if not 1000W.
#6 Trust me, once you start building a system (then update certain cards that don't do as you want) 2 things will hold you back. 1) slots...easy....2) PSU..expensive
:) oh, and if you soend money...don't buy from the internet...$20 saved here costs you many dollars later

Your comment about 3gb, fair enough. Bit of a lol at the whole 'you need 1gb card' 512mb is fine for me. Crossfire = ****. 450W PSU agreed not enough but I think most people would agree that a 500W/550W antec or corsair should do?

Never seen a store in my life that's cheaper than pconlineshop.co.nz

Been buying from them for ages, Only downside is there now expensive shipping. Awesome if you shopping under 5KG's (or under 10KGs for lucky aucklanders).

hueybot3000
05-09-2009, 05:12 PM
750watt psu of a decent brand would be overkil for that. id go 550-650 range of enermax or corsair.

get more ram, its cheap and an easy performance gain

whellington
05-09-2009, 06:43 PM
ECS mobos fail they don't have solid capacitors and they easily bend.

Speedy Gonzales
05-09-2009, 08:22 PM
I'm running Vista on 1.25 GB ram on the other PC, its fast enough, and its only an AMD 1.6. Even tho it doesnt have drivers for vista (for the sound and LAN), Vista installed them and both are working fine. More than 3 GB wont be accessible if youre using 32 bit, not 64 bit

qazwsxokmijn
05-09-2009, 08:41 PM
#1, you got 2GB ram, you need 3Gb for Vista (anything over 3Gb is not accessed)
#2 great card but it is 512Mb, why?? if you gonna upgrade go for 1Gb on card...simple
#3 you went AMD (the gamers friend?), I avoid, nothing I know wrong just i like intel.
#4 what slots does that motherboard have? yes 4850 is a fantastic card (big ups) but do you want to configure/crossfire 2 later? so how many PCI-E you got?
#5 screw that dude, great card, your 450W PSU ain't gonna run it, simple..get yourself at least 750W (from a 'good brand') if not 1000W.
#6 Trust me, once you start building a system (then update certain cards that don't do as you want) 2 things will hold you back. 1) slots...easy....2) PSU..expensive
#7 oh, and if you soend money...don't buy from the internet...$20 saved here costs you many dollars later
1: ) You obviously do not have any idea about this. Vista recognises more than 3GB as long as it is the x64 version. It's the same with all other OS's. It's not the OS, it's whether it is x86 or x64. You don't need 3GB for Vista. Many people have gaming machines with only 2GB.
2: ) Having a 1GB card is pointless when you have a small screen. 512MB is usually enough for monitors with a resolution of 1680x1050 or lower.
3: ) 750W, let alone 1000W is massively overkill for OP's upgraded system. A Corsair 450W is enough. Of course having a 650W won't hurt.
7: ) That is extremely poor advice. Don't buy from the internetz? Can you be more specificz?

Back to #2....so many people with a lack of knowledge keeps thinking the more VRAM = the better the card. Well I'd love to see how a 1GB 8500GT fare against a 512MB 4850!

qazwsxokmijn
05-09-2009, 08:47 PM
Crossfire is not worth it. You'd be better off upgrading single cards.

Blam
Says the guy with 2x 4850s!! :D

gary67
06-09-2009, 09:50 AM
I buy all my parts online, I reckon I have saved a couple of $100 over the last 2 years

CaptainVincent
10-09-2009, 08:24 AM
750watt psu of a decent brand would be overkil for that. id go 550-650 range of enermax or corsair.

get more ram, its cheap and an easy performance gain

Bingo =).