PDA

View Full Version : Driver needed for Seagate 1tb HDD



mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:11 PM
Hi, i brought a Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1tb hard drive but it didnt come with the driver. Could someone tell me where i could get it from. Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
27-08-2009, 06:19 PM
You dont need drivers for hdd's. Windows should detect it and then you format it then use it. Just as long as you connect the power and data cables (if its sata). And the BIOS detects it, it'll work

wainuitech
27-08-2009, 06:21 PM
You dont get drivers with Hard Drives, the "drivers" will be in the operating system - simply plug in the Drive and the OS should do the rest.

Depending on what you are wanting to do with it, you will have to format it if its a Second drive, or install a OS if its the main drive.

Whats its intended Use ???

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:22 PM
But the BIOS dont detect it.

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:23 PM
Im trying to install Windows XP on it but windows cant detect and neither can the BIOS

wainuitech
27-08-2009, 06:24 PM
What Motherboard as well do you have ?

It may need the BIOS upgraded.

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:26 PM
Im using it as the main drive. I have a 36 ASUS P4S333-M

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:28 PM
How would you upgrade them??

wainuitech
27-08-2009, 06:31 PM
By Any chance do you have a smaller HDD to plug in to see if it shows ?

Regarding the Upgrade of the BIOS - First you need to go to the ASUS site, find the correct BIOS.

BUT dont try that yet - if it fails or is the wrong one, you can stuff things up big time.

BUT log into the BIOS - there should be what version you have - lets check that first.

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:34 PM
Na i don't. I mean my motherboard is really old. It doesnt even have a SATA imput. Im using a adapter.

Speedy Gonzales
27-08-2009, 06:36 PM
Does this mobo support SATA 1?? And is the hdd SATA 2?? If it is the hdd needs to be jumpered to SATA 150. For it to work on this mobo.

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:43 PM
Its version 1007

Speedy Gonzales
27-08-2009, 06:46 PM
1007 is the latest. The latest 2 versions are betas. I would stick with the non-beta updates. Its probably the adapter then. Something isnt picking it up. It probably wont get detected in the BIOS.. Did you connect the power and data cables?

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:47 PM
I have a feeling thee hdd is sata 2. i dont think my mobo supports it. Im guessing not. Cose it doesnt even have a sata imput on it. as i said im using a adapter

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:47 PM
Yip i did!

Speedy Gonzales
27-08-2009, 06:51 PM
So, what does the adapter support then SATA 150 / or Sata 2?? If that supports SATA 1 / 150, jumper the hdd to SATA 150

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 06:56 PM
Im not sure. it doesnt say. And another question. Do ide cable matter what way they go in or not??

Speedy Gonzales
27-08-2009, 06:59 PM
Yup it does matter theres a red/blue/white line / stripe on one side of an IDE cable. This line MUST go to pin 1 of the hdd and the mobo. And if the cable has a BLUE connector at one end, it MUST go to the motherboard end. NOT to the hdd end. Altho, if this hdd is SATA, you shouldnt be using an IDE cable. Connect it the wrong way round, whatever it is, wont work, and wont get detected either

Whats the brand / model of the SATA adapter?

mitchd100
27-08-2009, 07:03 PM
Ok i know why its not working. I put the adapter the wrong way because it doesnt fit the other way. Man thats annoying. I brought it frm Jaycar electronics. the packet just says its distributed by electrus

pctek
27-08-2009, 10:27 PM
Adapter? Or SATA PCI card?