PDA

View Full Version : SD card capacity



linw
24-08-2009, 01:59 PM
Is there any way an SD card can fail to report half its value? Just checked on a 2GB Panasonic SD card that I got with my Panasonic camera as part of a free upgrade kit. It only shows as 961MB. As it came out of the camera it was not formatted (raw) but disk manager saw it as 961MB. After FAT format, it still shows the same size.

It's going back to DSE but I was curious as to how it could happen being as it came in an official Panasonic kit and is labeled as 2GB and the kit says it contains a 2GB device.

Blam
24-08-2009, 02:12 PM
Does it show the same from linux?

linw
24-08-2009, 04:27 PM
What's Linux?:D

Dunno, can't find a Linux CD to see.

But it gets really confusing. If I format the card in the camera and hook the camera up as a USB mass storage device, it says it is 2GB FAT. If I plug the card into my USB rdr stick, windows sees it as 0 bytes. Disk management sees it as raw, 961MB. But in the GPS it now sees it as 2GB FAT.

I have really confused myself but I can now get it seen as 2GB for the GPS which is what I wanted in the first place.

Ross Burgess
24-08-2009, 04:37 PM
might be the card reader then do u have other cards to try??

linw
25-08-2009, 10:25 AM
Are some older card rdrs limited to 1GB?? Both my 2GB cards show as 1GB in my rdr.

Time for a card rdr update perhaps?