PDA

View Full Version : Best high end webcam?



apsattv
23-08-2009, 10:00 PM
Any thoughts on what is the best highend webcam?

such as

Logitech 9000
Philips spc 1330 nc Pro

Or others?

Or has anyone used a camcorder as a webcam? and the procedure to do it?

Speedy Gonzales
23-08-2009, 10:53 PM
I found that the DV cam (Panasonic NV-DS30A), I've got here (its got a firewire connection on it), gets recognised by Messenger and Skype. Must have been a recently updated version of Skype (or because I'm using Vista), why it works. Because previously, it didnt work (Skype). IIRC, the only diff between using it in XP and Vista, is in XP I can take snapshots with it (from My computer). It appears as a removable device. In Vista, I can't. You need a separate program to take a snapshot.

Didnt have to do much to get it to work. All I did was connect it, and try it. It worked. I'm pretty sure it has to support WIA (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Image_Acquisition) so it'll work. Got a tripod for it the other week, and its sitting beside me now. I also use it with Moviemaker, to transfer video

utopian201
24-08-2009, 11:35 AM
There is also the new Microsoft Lifecam Cinema. Don't know anything about it, other than it is new and high end.

rumpty
24-08-2009, 06:06 PM
I have a Logitech Pro 9000. A few people on the other end of Skype have commented on the good picture quality.

Richardd150
24-08-2009, 08:48 PM
I have a Logitech Pro 9000. A few people on the other end of Skype have commented on the good picture quality.

x2

nmercer
24-08-2009, 09:36 PM
new Microsoft Lifecam looks pretty hot, should be out in NZ later this year

Microsoft LifeCam Cinema Introduces 720p HD Widescreen Video

http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/press/2009/aug09/08-20cinemapr.mspx

joewelly
03-11-2009, 10:26 PM
I'm looking at getting either the Logitech Pro 9000 or the Microsoft Lifecam. Has anyone used the Lifecam? Is there much difference in picture quality?

Cheers,
J.

Speedy Gonzales
03-11-2009, 10:35 PM
I use a lifecam here (the VX-3000, with mic). Its alright. You can download the program to take snapshots / record video or use it with whatever IM program.

Havent used logitech cams (but I'm using a logitech wireless keyboard / mouse ). Most of their programs (for cams anyway) install too much crap.

gary67
04-11-2009, 06:38 AM
I am using a logitech notebook cam on my desktop quality is fine although nothing near HD of course and I only installed the driver on Win 7 64 bit did not install any of the software as it is only used for skype