PDA

View Full Version : Cable mess!



whellington
21-08-2009, 12:07 AM
My GPU needs a 6pin + 8pin to power. I have a modular PSU and the 8pin is in the same cable as the 4pin mobo connector and theyre about 4cm apart. (The mobo connector is about 20cm apart from the card).

Any suggestions on what to do? Are there any 4pin/8pin extenders??

hueybot3000
21-08-2009, 01:43 AM
you any good with a solderin iron?

pctek
21-08-2009, 08:41 AM
My GPU needs a 6pin + 8pin to power. I have a modular PSU .

It's modular. Add another cable.

whellington
21-08-2009, 10:04 AM
Does this work? Where do i get another cable from?

http://www.goldfries.com/computing/6pin-pci-e-to-8pin-pci-e-modification/

SolMiester
21-08-2009, 10:29 AM
You should have ALL the cables that connect already!! Are you confusing the 8 pin as EPS12v for the CPU?

whellington
21-08-2009, 10:36 AM
You should have ALL the cables that connect already!! Are you confusing the 8 pin as EPS12v for the CPU?

No my PSU is sli ready and it has only two 6pin pcie cables.

The 8pin it has is not for PCIe, only for the mobo.

sammo450
21-08-2009, 12:39 PM
My PSU came with 6+2 PCIe cables, has yours not got any of these?

SolMiester
21-08-2009, 01:20 PM
No my PSU is sli ready and it has only two 6pin pcie cables.

The 8pin it has is not for PCIe, only for the mobo.

Thats what I said...LOL

wainuitech
21-08-2009, 02:12 PM
According to a PM This is the card (http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/xfx_gtx280/2.htm) Owllol has - bottom left picture shows power Connections -- Must require some kind of grunt to run that :D

whellington
21-08-2009, 02:44 PM
Its a non brand version. Nvidia one pulled out from a dell workstation.

Does anyone know where to get these?
https://shop.pcpower.com/images/products/b/PCIE-6-8_3853.jpg

SolMiester
21-08-2009, 03:52 PM
Try cablesdirect.co.nz