PDA

View Full Version : Computer Crashing/Freezing Problems



victorcharlie
12-08-2009, 11:47 AM
Hi , a friend gave me an old comp. He got a new one cause the old comp. crashes/freezes alot.

Things I did include:
1. Cleaned out dust
2. Fresh install of Win XP (+ updates)
3. Updated drivers and BIOS
(Drivers from components website and BIOS update from HP website)
4. Check IRQ's conflicts/usage
5. Took out 1 RAM stick (also changed them around)
6. Took out 1 RAM stick and CD-ROM , to check Power Supply
7. Installed Win XP on a differnt HDD but crashed before installation finished
8. Turn off components from BIOS and Win XP (like SoundCard , USB ports)

Occasionally it doesn't start-up . When it does the comp. will stay on for upto 2 hour before crashing/freezeing. Other times it crashes within 5 mins from power on. The comp. , on occasions, will restart. Please need help, thanks.

COMPUTER SPECS:
==============================
HP Pavilion a210a (Desktop)
Motherboard : K2-GL6E
Intel Pentium 4 2.60 GHz
512 MB RAM (2 x 256MB Sticks)
- PC2700 , DDR SDRAM , 184 pin
40 Gb HDD
Win XP Home -SP3
CD-ROM
On Board Sound -Realtek AC'97
On Board Graphics -SiS M651 (upto 64 Mb shared RAM)
On Board Network Card
6 USB 2.0 ports
250 Watt PSU

Speedy Gonzales
12-08-2009, 11:52 AM
I would try another PSU.

Blam
12-08-2009, 12:54 PM
Most likely the PSU is on the way out.

I'm guessing the 250w is a no brand as well

victorcharlie
12-08-2009, 02:11 PM
I do have a spare (non-brand) 250 Watt PSU

The reason why I didn't try it was cause the spare has 20 cables / 20 pin but the 1 in the comp. has 19 cables / 20 pin (missing 1 white cable).

On the K2-GL6E it has "ATX2" but i'm not to sure about the spare PSU . I've read that some PSU aren't compatible even though they're the same physically size and have the same number of pins.

Numbers:
================
From comp.
----------
AC Input 47-63Hz:
- 100-127V/6A
- 200-240V/4A

DC Output:
- +5.0V=/25A, +12V=/14A
- +3.3V=/18A, -12V=/0.8A
- +5VSB=/2A , -5V=/?

+5V & +3.3V Shall Not Exceed 165W
+5V & +12V Shall Not Exceed 218W
MAX OUTPUT POWER : 250 Watt

---------------------------------
Spare PSU
----------
AC Input 60-50Hz:
- 115/7A
- 230V/4A

DC Output:
- +5.0V=/25A , +12V=/8A
- +3.3V=/14A , -12V=/0.5A
- +5VSB=/1.5A, -5V=/0.5A

250 Watt

The 6A (amps?) difference for +12V is a bit worrying , not to sure if it's safe to use on the motherboard? I guess it doesn't matters , as I've got nothing to lose .

victorcharlie
12-08-2009, 02:50 PM
:( Just found out the comp.'s PSU is 20pin + 4pin , spare one is only 20pin .

pctek
12-08-2009, 03:15 PM
:( Just found out the comp.'s PSU is 20pin + 4pin , spare one is only 20pin .

Doesn't matter. You can try it anyway.

victorcharlie
13-08-2009, 10:48 AM
I've been throw a life line , a friend has a spare 20pin + 4pin PSU . Didn't try my PSU but read that "+4pin" is to power up the CPU .

Speedy Gonzales
13-08-2009, 10:51 AM
Depends where the 4 pin is. Some PSU's have a 20 pin connection, and the 4 pin as an extra block for 24 pin mobos. If its for the CPU, there's probably another 4 pin block coming from the PSU

victorcharlie
16-08-2009, 10:45 PM
Thanks for the info and help , I know what's wrong now . For some reason I decided to install 'Ubuntu Linux OS' which had an option to run "MemTest86" before installing it . It turns out that both RAM sticks have lots of errors .

victorcharlie
18-08-2009, 08:45 PM
Does anyone know if a program like 'HotCPU Tester Pro' that starts up at boot like 'MemTest86' ?

Speedy Gonzales
18-08-2009, 09:07 PM
search for it

victorcharlie
19-08-2009, 10:23 AM
I've tried , got some programs from Intel , but they're only for ID'ing the CPU