PDA

View Full Version : Help - had enough, want to restore original settings

lisacomputer
08-08-2009, 05:39 PM
Hey, I have been having various problems with my Vista laptop for a while now. The main problem is that my laptop often (about once a day or more) freezes, makes a weird clicking sound and has to be turned off. When it is turned back on it has to go through startup repair, sometimes several times. Also, my USB mouse stopped working, the light at the bottom of it comes on when plugged in but nothing happens. Mouse works fine on other computers and I have tried reinstalling the driver, have had to use touchpad. Finally whenever Vista tries to install updates it crashes and does not install them. I want to return my laptop to the original default Vista settings, all my data is backed up. Do I need a Vista CD/DVD to reinstall it, or can it be done without one? Oh and there are no past system restore points so that is not an option. Help appreciated, I'm not good with computers, thanks.

Sweep
08-08-2009, 05:44 PM
So what CDs came with the Laptop and have you still got the same?

wainuitech
08-08-2009, 05:49 PM
freezes, makes a weird clicking sound Thats NOT good - Does it sound like a metalic sound - (bit hard to describe) If it is what I think - make sure all your data is fully backed up - the hard Drive could be about to fail - its called the click of death (google it).

Got one Customers drive here right now - she said it made a "funny clicking sound" - she ignored it - two days later drives dead.

lisacomputer
08-08-2009, 05:51 PM