PDA

View Full Version : setting up Raid Bios



19greenman28
08-08-2009, 05:04 PM
Hi, I am trying to set up a new computer with a Raid 1 system. My problem is that whenever I get to the screen that says "press CTRL-I" to enter Raid Bios, I get no response and it just moves onto the next sceen. What am I doing wrong?

Speedy Gonzales
08-08-2009, 06:19 PM
WHAT kind of system is it ? Model / brand?? Did you buy it as a system. or did you build / make it up yourself?

stormdragon
08-08-2009, 06:30 PM
Can you get into the BIOS?

Blam
08-08-2009, 07:11 PM
Try a PS2 keyboard.

19greenman28
09-08-2009, 02:39 PM
First of all, I built the system myself. Everything is brand new. I am running a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P motherboard with a Q9550 Intel Core2 Quad CPU and Corsair twin 2X4096-8500C5D G (2x2GB DDR2 memory). The hard drives are Western Digital 640GB Caviar Blacks.

Second: I have no problem getting into the bios.

Third: Have only tried cordless keyboard and a USB keyboard as I don't have access to a PS2 one.

I took the machine back to the shop where I bought the parts and they took it away and then called me in a few minutes later to show that they could get into the RAID Bios. I don't know what type of keyboard they were using. When I got home I still had the same problem.

At a loss :badpc:

19greenman28
09-08-2009, 10:39 PM
WHAT kind of system is it ? Model / brand?? Did you buy it as a system. or did you build / make it up yourself?

First of all, I built the system myself. Everything is brand new. I am running a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P motherboard with a Q9550 Intel Core2 Quad CPU and Corsair twin 2X4096-8500C5D G (2x2GB DDR2 memory). The hard drives are Western Digital 640GB Caviar Blacks.

gary67
10-08-2009, 07:53 AM
As said get and try a ps2 keyboard even if you go to your local recycle shop to get one cheap it's worth it to have one lying around

19greenman28
10-08-2009, 12:39 PM
Thanks, I'll give it a go.

Speedy Gonzales
10-08-2009, 12:44 PM
Did you install / slipstream the sata raid drivers when you installed windows?

What revision is the mobo?? 1. 1.1 or 1.6?

somebody
10-08-2009, 12:57 PM
Did you install / slipstream the sata raid drivers when you installed windows?


He hasn't gotten to that stage yet - the RAID bios the OP is talking about sounds like the Intel Matrix Storage Manager (or similar).

It sounds like the USB keyboard is recognised on boot (hence he can get into the normal BIOS), but due to a setting, it is no longer recognised until the Windows drivers are loaded.

There are a couple of things to try:
- In the (regular) BIOS, see if there's an option for "USB Keyboard support" or similar
- In the (regular) BIOS, either enable or disable the "USB Legacy support"

With my system, I recall that I had to enable a setting like "Legacy USB Keyboard Support" or something similar, so that the Ctrl+I would be recognised.