PDA

View Full Version : problem trying to do scandisk scan



nedkelly
07-08-2009, 10:07 PM
Hey have a hard drive that is in an external case and when i plug it in to any vista pc it says it has problems and needs to do a scan so I try to start it and it just sits at 0 file records scanned and in the end i give up and cancel it but then the hard drive says that access to it is denied. What could cause this and is there any fixes that do not include formating the hard drive?

Blam
08-08-2009, 12:12 AM
Try open cmd as administrator>chkdsk X: /r

Replace X with the EHD drive letter

Blam

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 09:17 AM
Hey tried chkdsk like blam said has been going for half an hour and has not changed from 0%

Speedy Gonzales
08-08-2009, 09:22 AM
Whats on the hdd? Sounds like you may have to take ownership of it

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 09:24 AM
tried to start it again cause it stopped but it said i need to run the utility in elevated mode. How do i get to elevated mode?

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 09:25 AM
I already had ownership but now after chkdsk stopped i can not change ownership of it or even open the hard drive

Speedy Gonzales
08-08-2009, 09:32 AM
Close command prompt. Accessories / right mouse on command prompt / run as admin

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 09:34 AM
that worked, just hope i get past 0% this time

Speedy Gonzales
08-08-2009, 09:39 AM
If that doesnt work connect it to an IDE or SATA connection. See if it does the same thing or actually starts and finishes

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 09:44 AM
yeah it did not work. Chkdsk did not get past 0%. Just quit and went back to command prompt.

Speedy Gonzales
08-08-2009, 09:46 AM
Is there anything on it / is it formatted?

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 09:51 AM
No there is stuff on it. Might try to get stuff off it and then format it. Dont really want to lose the stuff on it cause it is the backup of my pc that threw a temper tantrum and totally screwed itself some how.

Speedy Gonzales
08-08-2009, 09:52 AM
Well like I said, connect it to an IDE / SATA connection then try it. See what happens

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 09:54 AM
ok will copy the stuff off it first then put it in my pc

Speedy Gonzales
08-08-2009, 09:56 AM
Or use another program like defraggler, and scan with that

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 11:53 AM
defraggler did not get past 0% either. So getting all the stuff off it now

Blam
08-08-2009, 06:01 PM
May be a faulty IDE/SATA connection. Connect it directly to a PC and see if it works fine.

nedkelly
08-08-2009, 11:41 PM
the last one was directly connected