PDA

View Full Version : Outlook Express Spell checker



mikebartnz
05-08-2009, 09:31 PM
Hi there all. Had to do a reinstall on someone's PC after power problems blew the motherboard and got everything exactly as it was apart from the spell checker in Outlook Express. I don't have it and they live too far away so if someone could tell me how to set up the spell checker it would be much appreciated.

Blam
05-08-2009, 09:42 PM
You need either Word, Frontpage or the Works suite in order to OE's spell check to work.

If she/he does have these programs but it isn't working then try this:
1. Click Options on the Tools menu.

2. Click the Spelling tab.

3. Select the Always check spelling before sending check box. If you clear the box you can still use the spell check by pressing the F7 key.

If he/she doesn't, then install this:
http://majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=2952

Blam

mikebartnz
05-08-2009, 10:13 PM
Thanks Blam will pass this on to them.

mikebartnz
05-08-2009, 11:23 PM
This is the second mother board I have seen fried because of power problems where surge/spike protectors have been installed. I suspect neither has had restart on power failure set to off but obviously can't verify that.