PDA

View Full Version : Modem



Richard
05-08-2009, 05:24 PM
Further to my previous post about having to change my ISP, will I be better now to replace my ADSL modem with an ADSL2 modem? Currently I have a Billion ADSL VPN Firewall Router. What should I look for in a replacement? :thanks

Speedy Gonzales
05-08-2009, 05:28 PM
Depends if the ISP supports ADSL 2 and the plan youre on (if youre on one) supports ADSL 2. If not, I wouldnt bother.

Richard
05-08-2009, 05:33 PM
Speedy, new ISP will be Orcon. The modem/router they recommend is ADSL2+ compliant. Will this be faster than my current setup?

Speedy Gonzales
05-08-2009, 05:36 PM
Well yeah, ADSL2 is faster (24 mb max or something), compared to normal adsl which is 8 mb max or something

Chilling_Silence
05-08-2009, 05:48 PM
Have a chat with Orcon, their Orcon HomeHub is actually quite good, I've been very impressed for the use I've seen of them thus far. Hosts VoIP, NAT works well, never falls over ...

Blam
05-08-2009, 07:05 PM
Speedy, new ISP will be Orcon. The modem/router they recommend is ADSL2+ compliant. Will this be faster than my current setup?

Yes.