PDA

View Full Version : can i make my P300 pspcca-05y01y FASTER

hank
05-08-2009, 01:08 AM
hi i brought a new laptop about a month ago and after setting it up and installing some games ive found its not as fast as i would have hoped i have been searching to find anyway to speed it up to a comfortable gaming speed but with no luck so my final attempt is to ASK.
my only conclusion to this situation is to go to 64 bit but im not an expert my spec are as follows

Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P7450 Dual Core 2.13GHz

4GB DD R2 (2GB +2GB) (800Mhz) Both slots used.
Total memory expandable to 8GB

ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 3650
(512MB discrete video memory and up to 2302MB video memory with 4GB system RAM)

full specs here just look for the p300
http://203.56.127.51//TOPIC/product_details/product/20090701/Toshiba_Retail_Range_Specification_Brochure_Q109_5 .pdf

SO in my conclusion did i just waste $2200 on a not so fast laptop or can i make still make this work???
can i put in a new cpu?
can i put in a new gpu?
what about 64 bit???

any suggestions would be WICKED THANKS
rob

Speedy Gonzales
05-08-2009, 01:28 AM
can i put in a new cpu?

If its replaceable, yup, if not no

can i put in a new gpu?

If its onboard, probably not

what about 64 bit???

If the CPU supports 64 bit, then yup you can install a 64 bit version of windows, if not, then no. Should have brought a desktop, laptops arent that great for gaming

Blam
05-08-2009, 01:52 AM
Yes
Yes but would require a lot of work
Yes

Going 64bit will not benefit you much in games except slightly extra RAM.

You'd be better off selling it and buying a cheap netbook+fast desktop with the money

Blam

Jen
05-08-2009, 07:38 AM
any suggestions would be WICKED THANKS
robHi Rob,

Sorry, but your first choice of username was not appropriate for this forum. I have changed this to "Hank" instead. Please let me know if you prefer some other username instead.

Thanks
Jen (Moderator)

pctek
05-08-2009, 09:12 AM
laptop