PDA

View Full Version : Hard disk size not recognised??



katiponz
04-08-2009, 08:04 PM
Hi, I'm just building myself a new computer -

Intel E5300
Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
4GB RAM
9800GT
WD 500GB SATA II

I've just gone to install Windows XP Pro, and when it gets to the part about partitioning the Disk, it tells me that it is only 131GB???? Yet when I look at the disk in the CMOS setup it recognises it as 500GB.

Can anyone tell me what might be the reason for this. Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
04-08-2009, 08:17 PM
Install SP1 +, after you install windows. Or slipstream a SP first then install windows

Blam
04-08-2009, 09:08 PM
Yep. Do what Speedy Said.

To slipstream a SP use Nlite

Or-just install the SP's after you've installed XP, then expand the partition with something such as Easeus Partition manager or Gparted

Blam

Blam
04-08-2009, 09:09 PM
Yep. Do what Speedy Said.

To slipstream a SP use Nlite

Or-just install the SP's after you've installed XP, then expand the partition with something such as Easeus Partition manager or Gparted

Blam

katiponz
05-08-2009, 10:59 AM
Ahhh, I think I get it, my (6yr+ old) version of Windows won't recognise the size of the disk. I've installed Windows and hope I can expand my second partition when the SP's are all installed. Thanks for the advice guys :-)