PDA

View Full Version : Need help!! PLEASE!!



john101extreme
02-08-2009, 08:59 PM
Recently i have been having MAJOR internet trouble, no, not me doing stuff illegal online, but my internet itself has been having real trouble. Im on Slingshots Full speed D/L and U/L plan and i usually get speedtests of 60 ping with 13,000 kbps D/L and 1,200 U/L. BUT! Recently ive had MAJOR trouble... look at this speedtest i just done...

Last Result:
Download Speed: 990 kbps (123.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 324 kbps (40.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 235 ms

Yeap. Absoulutely crap... I called Slingshot and went through ALOT and i mean ALOT of troubleshooting... no good... they couldnt figure it out... i even tried another modem.. no luck... PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME!! Just ask me for any info and im more then willing to let anyone help. PLEASE!!

BTW My internet is mainly used for xbox live. and i have more then 10gb cap left this month.

ronyville
02-08-2009, 09:16 PM
I am with slingshot as well, have you tried a different adsl modem.
Here's my findings

With 3COM modem
Download Speed: 14917 kbps
Upload Speed: 716 kbps
Latency: 9 ms


With DrayTek Vigor 2800 series
Download Speed: 6917 kbps
Upload Speed: 596 kbps
Latency: 11 ms

I don't really know why but I get different speeds with different modems. See if you can get hold of another adsl modem what do a speedtest on that.

john101extreme
02-08-2009, 09:20 PM
Yea, i have used 2 modems but i still get the same results. ='( gaming with 200+ ping is unbearable ='(

pctek
02-08-2009, 09:36 PM
Download Speed: 990 kbps (123.8 KB/sec transfer rate)


.

Thats about normal for me.

john101extreme
02-08-2009, 09:40 PM
Thats about normal for me.

Well, i feel sorry for you =(. thats a shocking speed especially when im paying for ful speed

CYaBro
02-08-2009, 09:43 PM
I am with slingshot as well, have you tried a different adsl modem.
Here's my findings

With 3COM modem
Download Speed: 14917 kbps
Upload Speed: 716 kbps
Latency: 9 ms


With DrayTek Vigor 2800 series
Download Speed: 6917 kbps
Upload Speed: 596 kbps
Latency: 11 ms

I don't really know why but I get different speeds with different modems. See if you can get hold of another adsl modem what do a speedtest on that.

Most likely the difference because the Draytek is not an ADSL2+ router, only ADSL. Or it may need a firmware update to make it perform better with your particular exchange/DSLAM.

To the OP have you got another computer you can try on your connection?

john101extreme
02-08-2009, 09:46 PM
Yeh tried on my dads laptop... but the same lag is happening on my xbox too...

CYaBro
02-08-2009, 09:58 PM
Are you using filters on all your telephones, fax, Sky box etc or do you have a central ADSL splitter installed?
i.e. when you first got broadband did you do a self install or did a Telecom tech come out to your house and install it?

john101extreme
02-08-2009, 10:04 PM
I have splitters on all connections... well the one connection =P

Chilling_Silence
02-08-2009, 10:49 PM
Try replacing the splitter that the modem uses with a *brand* new one and then unplugging all other devices.
A few things:
1) Whats your modems Make / Model?
2) What is the SNR, or Signal to Noise Ratio in the modem status?
3) Ring your ISP, ask them what your nearest Exchange is (The ADSL Exchange you're on) and the address of it, look it up on maps.google.co.nz and figure out roughly how far from it you are and post back.
4) Ask your ISP if they are wholesaling off Telecom or if they have their own equipment in that exchange. If they can't give you a straight answer or are at all unsure, then they're wholesaling off Telecom and thats potentially a bad thing.
5) Run a speedtest as soon as you wake up, as soon as you get home from work, and right before bed
6) At the same time (Just after each speedtest) click Start --> Run --> cmd
Enter: ping trademe.co.nz -n 10
Post back the Min, Max & Average ping times for each of the 3 times of the day

By then we'll know the probable issue ;)

Cheers


Chill.

CYaBro
02-08-2009, 10:50 PM
I have splitters on all connections... well the one connection =P

You need to make sure that anything else connected to the phone line like phones, faxes, Sky decoders, etc all have a filter on them.
If not then disconnect it and test the connection.
Also test by disconnecting everything even filters and just have the ADSL router plugged in and test the connection. Also remove any extension cords or double adapters that the ADSL router may be plugged in to.
If you have a monitored alarm then you need to get a tech to come and install a proper ADSL splitter on the incoming phone line.

john101extreme
03-08-2009, 08:08 PM
Try replacing the splitter that the modem uses with a *brand* new one and then unplugging all other devices.
A few things:
1) Whats your mod......


1. My models of modems are the following:

Thompson TG585v7
Dynalink RTA1320

2. How do i find out that?
Is this what you want?
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,0 / 19,0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 13,5 / 25,5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 12,5 / 12,0

3. 5 calls to multiple numbers to get this info... no luck. All the info lead me to a dead

end where a guy told me to call back where i started. Ive given up.

4. I am using Slingshot and from what the women told me when i called, yes they are

wholesoling off telecom.

5. I am going to post daily speedtests on forums of tests in the morning, afternoon and

night.
Speedtest 3/08/09 7pm

Last Result:
Download Speed: 936 kbps (117 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 337 kbps (42.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 241 ms

6. After speedtests i will test this too.

C:\Users\Mastertons>ping trademe.co.nz -n 10

Pinging trademe.co.nz [202.162.72.2] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=263ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=282ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=267ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=272ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=275ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=245ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=252ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=231ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=216ms TTL=247
Reply from 202.162.72.2: bytes=32 time=290ms TTL=247

Ping statistics for 202.162.72.2:
Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 216ms, Maximum = 290ms, Average = 259ms


I really hope i can resolve this issue asap. Slow internet is alot more then a pain!

Thanks for the help

Chilling_Silence
03-08-2009, 08:19 PM
Yup, long story short:
1) Use the Thomson, its by far the most superior of the two!
2) Change ISPs to one that isnt wholesal'ing off Telecom, such as Orcons + Network or Vodafones RED network. Can you get either of those two in your area?

This page may help you to find how far you are from your Exchange:
http://hwiki.digitalsouth.net.nz/broadband/exchange_locations

Because you previously had decent speeds, now your pings are fluctuating all over the show, its an indication of one of Telecom's many overloaded ADSL exchanges (The point where all the phones in your area meet -- There's 1 internet pipe of Telecoms that everybody in your area shares back to a main interconnection such as APE or WIX). Changing to an ISP that doesnt wholesale off Telecom will mean you use their connection back to the APE / WIX / whatever, which is more than likely less utilized which in turn means better & more reliable speeds.

Hope this helps


Chill.

john101extreme
03-08-2009, 08:36 PM
Problem is that im on a contract with Slingshot so im not willing to change at the moment. Do you think that my internet will get back to the way it was?

Heres a picture of how far aay the exchange is...

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/8379/exchange.png

john101extreme
03-08-2009, 09:14 PM
Would it possibly be congestion at the exchange?

Chilling_Silence
03-08-2009, 11:10 PM
Its quite possibly congestion at the exchange, but you're also quite far away.

Have a chat with them about your Interleaving settings, it may or may not make a difference. Being in Dunedin, I'm unsure if you can get Orcons + Network , or Vodafones RED network. TelstraClear may do their own? But I wouldnt hold my breath. You're possibly stuck talking to Slingshot and getting them to get Telecom to fix it ...

Sweep
03-08-2009, 11:41 PM
All this ISP stuff is difficult to sort.

As the original poster is on a Slingshot contract for two years and does not want to change presumably due to cost I think the only recourse may be Consumer Guarantee or or some other thing like Fair Go etc.

If there is a contract with Slingshot then presumably they have to live up to their side of the bargain. Unfortunately we know that with all ISP's phone companies and heaps of others like Politicians, Insurance Sales, Car Sales, Finance Companies, Banks and I could go on.

Changing ISP's or Phone Companies is just as difficult as working out which Power Company to go for.

We do know that you can't always beat these Companies as they have more resources in the way of money and access to Lawyers which the average person can not afford.

I have not read the Slingshot contract so I have no idea what was signed up for.

Much like the EULA, which of course you all read before installing software.

PaulD
04-08-2009, 12:37 AM
Its quite possibly congestion at the exchange, but you're also quite far away.



Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 13,5 / 25,5 is a distance to the "exchange" whatever that may be of about 2-2.5km which doesn't correspond with the picture.

As john101extreme can find the attenuation from the modem the line speed will be in the same place. That will indicate whether the fault is connection or congestion.

john101extreme
04-08-2009, 08:09 AM
This mornings speedtest gave good results. But sort of extreme...

Last Result:
Download Speed: 211345 kbps (26418.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 796 kbps (99.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 53 ms

Download speed is off the hook.... i wish i could download that quickly...

I got a guy at slingshot to chuck on interleaving settings for me. Hopfully that will make a bit of a difference.

Ahh i ran aonther test, this time on speedtest.net. This is what it should REALLY look like: http://www.speedtest.net/result/531672615.png (http://www.speedtest.net)