PDA

View Full Version : PC wont boot



whellington
31-07-2009, 12:18 PM
Desktop pc won't startup after switching cases:
All cords are secured and in correct place
I replaced my PSU less than 4 month ago, so its highly likely the problem in this case
When moving the mobo some capacitors may have been damaged/bent. And added pressure may have damaged some components
Red LED light on case shows up when power is on, but when you turn the AC button on it stays red and doesn't turn on
The 2-pin power may be in the wrong placement. Theres 3 2-pin cords and 2 1-pin

Does it go
Red White(2), Blue White(2)
Orange white(2), Green (1), White(1)?


Plox help

sammo450
31-07-2009, 01:20 PM
Could be some traces shorting on studs under the mobo. The arrangement of your header depends on the mobo. Look closely at the pcb and see if it says 'PWR' under any of the pins.

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2009, 01:41 PM
Whats the brand/model of the mobo?

whellington
31-07-2009, 03:05 PM
ECS Asterope 2

Blam
31-07-2009, 03:09 PM
Short the power pins with a screwdriver and see if it turns on.

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2009, 03:25 PM
Is this a HP / Compaq system. If it is, it can be tricky putting the mobo in another case (unless the new case) has what the original one had. Because of the connections (from the front). And also the PSU (which may or may not) fit properly in the new case. Did you take note of what wires (came off what), when you removed the mobo?

whellington
31-07-2009, 07:41 PM
I bought a new mobo - ASUS P5Q SE2. Install everything correctly.

It turns on for about 5-15 seconds then shut down. Gets to ASUS loading screen then shuts down. Upon bootup the CPU fan GETS REALLY LOUD. I checked the CPU fan again and the connection to the mobo seems very loose, the heatsink and fan uses 4 screws - i don't think its suited any branded cases.


CPU fan not secured causing the CPU to overheat, thus PC restart itself
No system fan, i've tried installing my old foxconn fan from my HP PC that has a 3-pin mobo connection but pc still restarts
I/O plate is not installed because it doesnt fit properly
I've also tried removing some components e.g. 2nd HDD, molex fans. Thought my 550W gigabyte PSU might not be powerful enough, but still no luck.


Should i call a computer technician to help out? And how much would it cost to fix this problem.. also could you recommend services that provide technical pc help at home or in Wellington region

Please help me

Blam
31-07-2009, 08:58 PM
Call a technician. If you don't know what you're doing then you may break other components.

Wanuitech is in Wellington.

whellington
31-07-2009, 09:03 PM
Will they replace the components i need with no futher charge?

Blam
31-07-2009, 09:08 PM
I doubt it.

They will charge you maybe $40 or so for parts and around $50 for labour. Maybe more depending on where you go.

wainuitech
31-07-2009, 09:13 PM
Thats sounds a bit of a Mess alright.

Bit of advice - be careful and get a proper tech or someone who DOES know what they are doing to look at it.

Fumbling about in the dark so to speak - will only possibly cause damage.


Will they replace the components i need with no futher charge -- Errrrrr doubt it.

Any components that are OK and will work would be used (if possible) but if you need new components then of course there would be charges + labor.

I'm in Wellington area -- Guess which suburb :rolleyes::D (PS: I run a computer business)

What part of WGTN are you in?

Eww TV time ----->>>>

gary67
31-07-2009, 10:29 PM
Give Wainui a call he's around Wellington, he is not allowed to advertise on here so I'm am recommending him instead, just click on his name and send a Private message.

whellington
01-08-2009, 08:01 AM
Wainuiomata? I live around there

whellington
01-08-2009, 08:55 AM
Lol is this your business?

http://yellow.co.nz/companies/Computer-&-Printer-Repair/ComMend-Computers/102338807_548.html

wainuitech
01-08-2009, 11:15 AM
Yep -- but the hours are wrong esp in the weekends;)

whellington
01-08-2009, 12:36 PM
Pmed you

whellington
02-08-2009, 11:14 AM
Getting wainuitech to fix

gary67
02-08-2009, 12:24 PM
Glad it worked out for you, tell us the outcome it might help someone else out sometime