PDA

View Full Version : Win7 Wont Start After Automatic Update



metatter
30-07-2009, 07:55 PM
I've been trying out Windows 7 (RC) on a spare PC thats about 4 years old with an AMD processor (XP3000+) & 1gb ram.

It's been running sweetly until I tried to start it last night and it wouldn't and it seems that it may be due to an automatic update that installed when I shut it down last. Not sure what the update was - I didn't even know it had one to install.

Well, it tries to start but keeps coming up with a "Windows Error Recovery" screen giving two options -

1) Launch Windows Recovery (Recommended) or
2) Start Windows Normally

..but the second option is greyed out and not available.

It then goes to another screen with a window titled "System Recovery Options" where you choose a keyboard layout. Then onto another "System Recovery Options" window with a choice of using recovery tools and picking an operating system (but none are mentioned) or restoring using a system image I had created earlier (but haven't).

Basically it seems that it doesn't recognize that it has an operating system at all.

Anyone have any ideas what's happened and if there is a solution (other than re-installing lol)?

Thanks.

paulw
30-07-2009, 08:05 PM
Maybe the RC has timed out and been killed by M$

metatter
30-07-2009, 08:09 PM
Maybe the RC has timed out and been killed by M$

Shouldn't be, it's the RC that is OK 'til 31/3/10 - fully registered etc.

Cheers.

wainuitech
30-07-2009, 08:21 PM
Those options you gave about the recovery - are they from the PC , or from the Actual DVD you made to install it.??

If you haven't tried from the DVD, boot from that - select Fix my computer ( I think its called) - try the recovery options from there.

Edited:

I got These two updates (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Updates.png) today.

Blam
30-07-2009, 09:27 PM
Do a chkdsk C: /r on the drive first from the recovery tools selection

It may be a different letter, check by going sytem image>cancel>next>browse>Then from there you can see the drive letters etc.

Then see if it recognises it. Once it does, just do a system restore

Blam

metatter
30-07-2009, 11:11 PM
Those options you gave about the recovery - are they from the PC , or from the Actual DVD you made to install it.??

If you haven't tried from the DVD, boot from that - select Fix my computer ( I think its called) - try the recovery options from there.

Edited:

I got These two updates (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Updates.png) today.

Thanks for the idea but no joy - wont let me boot from from the DVD, even if I disable all other boot options, I still return to the screens I first mentioned. This also means that I cannot re-install without formatting the HD on another PC as I can't get to the C drive.

Any ideas why this would be?

Cheers.

metatter
30-07-2009, 11:15 PM
Do a chkdsk C: /r on the drive first from the recovery tools selection

It may be a different letter, check by going sytem image>cancel>next>browse>Then from there you can see the drive letters etc.

Then see if it recognises it. Once it does, just do a system restore

Blam

The only drive I see from the command prompt is a X:/ drive, presumably the recovery drive. Do you mean from there to do the chkdsk?

I dont quite understand how to check for a different drive, am I to type the "system image>image......" at the prompt or is it another way.

Thanks.

wainuitech
30-07-2009, 11:26 PM
Thanks for the idea but no joy - wont let me boot from from the DVD, even if I disable all other boot options, I still return to the screens I first mentioned. This also means that I cannot re-install without formatting the HD on another PC as I can't get to the C drive.

Any ideas why this would be?

Cheers.

Wont let you boot from DVD ?? Sounds a little like a hardware problem or BIOS setting.

Boot into the BIOS - ( usually hitting the Delete key on boot) - look to see if the drive is showing in the BIOS - If it is, reset the BIOS to the default settings, then reboot again, and Go back in, check / Change to make sure the first boot device is the DVD Drive.

It shouldn't matter is the OS is damaged or not - that shouldn't stop it booting from a CD/DVD ( hasn't got that far yet.)

By any chance do you happen to have a Seagate drive - model number 7200.11 ?????

Blam
30-07-2009, 11:28 PM
Actually...as long as you don't have any other drives and windows installations it should be C:

so in command prompt just do:

chkdsk C: /r

Check in the BIOS that the 1st boot device is the CD/DVD drive

metatter
30-07-2009, 11:53 PM
Wont let you boot from DVD ?? Sounds a little like a hardware problem or BIOS setting.

Boot into the BIOS - ( usually hitting the Delete key on boot) - look to see if the drive is showing in the BIOS - If it is, reset the BIOS to the default settings, then reboot again, and Go back in, check / Change to make sure the first boot device is the DVD Drive.

It shouldn't matter is the OS is damaged or not - that shouldn't stop it booting from a CD/DVD ( hasn't got that far yet.)

By any chance do you happen to have a Seagate drive - model number 7200.11 ?????

Into BIOS - neither of my drives show there, the BIOS only picks up IDE drives and both mine are SCSI (SATA).

I have changed the boot order to show only the CD/DVD drive and disabled all other options but it still goes to the recovery screen, after checking out the DVD for around 30 seconds.

Neither of the drives are Seagate :lol:

Cheers.

metatter
30-07-2009, 11:55 PM
Actually...as long as you don't have any other drives and windows installations it should be C:

so in command prompt just do:

chkdsk C: /r

Check in the BIOS that the 1st boot device is the CD/DVD drive

Tried and came up with the following note: "Cannot open volume for direct access"

Does that mean anything to you?

Thanks.

wainuitech
31-07-2009, 09:59 AM
Since the Hard Drive is not showing in the BIOS - I doubt its the windows updates that caused the problem.

What you have to do is narrow down to exactly where the problem is.


What I would do If it were mine or a customers PC is this:

SATA HDD's will show in the BIOS even if blank, or the OS is damaged.

Open the case, unplug the power Connector and SATA cable from the HDD Motherboard, blow out any dust/crap and plug back in. See if it now shows in the BIOS.

If not unplug the SATA cable from the board, plug into another connector, as well as use a different power plug if you have one and a different SATA cable.

If still not showing, plug in a known working HDD and see if thats showing.

If that shows, then the original HDD may have a hardware fault, if it doesn’t show, then theres a chance the Board is failed someplace.

Try the original HDD in another PC to see if it shows in the BIOS as well.

IF the HDD shows in another PC, then I would strip the original board out, and fire it up on the workbench, just to check that nothing has moved and its shorting on the Case/ Risers somewhere.


Cannot open volume for direct access That error message normally means chkdsk cant run because some app is locking the HDD.

But because the HDD cant even be seen - I would say thats whats causing it.

You can try running chkdsk /x to dismount the drive, then run the command Blam posted, but I doubt it will work.

metatter
31-07-2009, 10:40 AM
SATA HDD's will show in the BIOS even if blank, or the OS is damaged.

I have never seen them showing in the BIOS ever, but they do show up early on in the boot process, after the SCSI drivers are loaded, both my hard drives do show up now at that time.

But I will try the options you suggest to confirm one way or another. I'll do that tonight when I am back at home.

Thanks.

wainuitech
31-07-2009, 12:32 PM
I have never seen them showing in the BIOS everWell they Do - Heres two pictures to show what I mean.

First one -Workshop PC, 4 1/2 years old components, has One 80GB HDD (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/11248996660.jpg) - and the other one, my own office PC - 5 months old Two 250GB SATA drives (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/21248996716.jpg) - one has vista, the other has Windows 7 & Sata optical Drive.

gary67
31-07-2009, 06:58 PM
Just noticed nothing in SATA 1 on your second pic any reason? Or just the way you set it up?

wainuitech
31-07-2009, 07:35 PM
Just noticed nothing in SATA 1 on your second pic any reason? Or just the way you set it up? Second Pic ???????

-- look again.

SATA1 250GB HDD

SATA2 Optical Drive

SATA3 250GB HDD

gary67
31-07-2009, 10:31 PM
Doh I'm not looking properly guess I'm tired from my new studies tonight

wainuitech
31-07-2009, 10:37 PM
its Friday - Good enough excuse Mate :D :thumbs:

JessicaD
01-08-2009, 05:26 AM
Metatter,

Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 RC Support Forum located here http://tinyurl.com/9fhdl5 . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You may want to check the threads there for additional assistance.

Jessica
Microsoft Windows Client Team