PDA

View Full Version : Vid Card Query



JJJJJ
27-07-2009, 09:17 PM
I have a 285 Video card with 1 gig memory.

My system reports this and then adds I have a total of 4 gigs dedicated memory on the card.
I am considering buying a new card with 2 gigs. But if I already have 4 gigs available is there any point in buying a 2 gig card?

Speedy Gonzales
27-07-2009, 09:20 PM
Its probably using system ram. Mines only 256mb, Vista says its got 3067mb hyper memory. It may have something to do with the memory remap feature option in the BIOS.

Chilling_Silence
27-07-2009, 09:33 PM
Short answer: Not unless you're running a 64-bit OS. 64-bit XP blows, 64-bit Vista blows coz its Vista but has better 64-bit support, whereas 64-bit Win7 is great!

Long answer: Due to the limitation of the 32-bit architecture, your system cannot address more than 4GB RAM, shared across Video RAM and normal system memory. If you have 4GB RAM installed and a 512MB graphics card, you'll only get around 3.2GB RAM showing. So on a 32-bit OS its a *total* waste! Not to mention that due to the way windows was written, each application only gets 1.5GB of RAM anyways, but thats an explanation for another date.
Note: Vista was patched in SP1 to show *all* the RAM installed, it just can't actually *use* it...
I was having a debate about this today, see here for a quick explanation that puts it into easy terms: http://www.dansdata.com/askdan00015.htm
However, if you're running a 64-bit OS, then you'll have no worries, and you should go for it :)

Blam
27-07-2009, 09:33 PM
You would only benefit from more Video RAM if you had a really big HD screen.

1gb should be enough, hows bigs ya screen?

JJJJJ
27-07-2009, 11:01 PM
Short answer: Not unless you're running a 64-bit OS. 64-bit XP blows, 64-bit Vista blows coz its Vista but has better 64-bit support, whereas 64-bit Win7 is great!

Long answer: Due to the limitation of the 32-bit architecture, your system cannot address more than 4GB RAM, shared across Video RAM and normal system memory. If you have 4GB RAM installed and a 512MB graphics card, you'll only get around 3.2GB RAM showing. So on a 32-bit OS its a *total* waste! Not to mention that due to the way windows was written, each application only gets 1.5GB of RAM anyways, but thats an explanation for another date.
Note: Vista was patched in SP1 to show *all* the RAM installed, it just can't actually *use* it...
I was having a debate about this today, see here for a quick explanation that puts it into easy terms: http://www.dansdata.com/askdan00015.htm
However, if you're running a 64-bit OS, then you'll have no worries, and you should go for it :)

Running 64 bit Win 7

JJJJJ
27-07-2009, 11:04 PM
You would only benefit from more Video RAM if you had a really big HD screen.

1gb should be enough, hows bigs ya screen?

Dual monitors. 26" and 22"
O/S is 64 bit Win 7

Blam
27-07-2009, 11:06 PM
Both at Full HD?

Might benefit you then.

I'm not sure though, never had such an awesome setup before:p

Chilling_Silence
28-07-2009, 09:19 AM
Then depending on the game, and if you have the money (naturally), then yes it could be beneficial! :)

memphis
28-07-2009, 11:24 PM
This would be so cool if money was not a problem
High resolution's,High AA,High AF,High FPS,and Max everything would be great for that.:D

-(4870 x2 2gig of ram x 2 would be so cool)-(quad graphics with 4gig of ram!!!),
plus max out the your motherboard ram of fast low latency ram,
an I7 cpu thrown in to finish it of would be great as well.:)

But I would wait for the Direct X 11 cards that are coming out when Windows 7 comes out on October 22 if you can.:drool

JJJJJ
29-07-2009, 11:03 AM
This would be so cool if money was not a problem
High resolution's,High AA,High AF,High FPS,and Max everything would be great for that.:D

-(4870 x2 2gig of ram x 2 would be so cool)-(quad graphics with 4gig of ram!!!),
plus max out the your motherboard ram of fast low latency ram,
an I7 cpu thrown in to finish it of would be great as well.:)

But I would wait for the Direct X 11 cards that are coming out when Windows 7 comes out on October 22 if you can.:drool

My current Computer.
Intel QX 975 CPU o/clocked to 3.8.
ASUS Rampage ll M.B.
EVGA 285 Superclocked Vid Card with 1 gig ram
12 gigs Corsair. Low Latency Ram
Corsair 1000 GHZ(or whatever the unit is) PSU
1 xSSD 260 gig Hard drive partitioned int two with Win 7 64bit in one and FSX in the other.
1 x 300gig Veloraptor ll HDD. (Still vacant)
26" Samsung monitor at 1900 x 1200
26" Viewsonic at 1600 x1050

A 2 gig video card should be here today.

The Cost. I haven't been keeping track but I reckon about $9,000

I have the latest ANTEC case. (forget the model)

It is running almost silently. Just a hum from the psu.
Have had it running at over 4 but have to increase fan speed.At present they are at minimum.

If anyone has any ideas on improvements let me know.

wratterus
29-07-2009, 11:05 AM
We all want your PC Jack it's awesome :) :drool

Would your case be the Antec 900 or 1200?

memphis
29-07-2009, 11:16 AM
My current Computer.
Intel QX 975 CPU o/clocked to 3.8.
ASUS Rampage ll M.B.
EVGA 285 Superclocked Vid Card with 1 gig ram
12 gigs Corsair. Low Latency Ram
Corsair 1000 GHZ(or whatever the unit is) PSU
1 xSSD 260 gig Hard drive partitioned int two with Win 7 64bit in one and FSX in the other.
1 x 300gig Veloraptor ll HDD. (Still vacant)
26" Samsung monitor at 1900 x 1200
26" Viewsonic at 1600 x1050

A 2 gig video card should be here today.

The Cost. I haven't been keeping track but I reckon about $9,000

I have the latest ANTEC case. (forget the model)

It is running almost silently. Just a hum from the psu.
Have had it running at over 4 but have to increase fan speed.At present they are at minimum.

If anyone has any ideas on improvements let me know.

All I can say is::cool::drool:clap:D:thumbs:

I think the only way to get better performance from your set up would be to use 22" LCD instead so you could get more performance from the graphics cards Higher FPS etc,but yeah having big LCD's has benefits as well,maybe just give it a go on a 22' and see what the performance differance would be and yeah I7 cpu and DX 11 graphic cards,Windows 7 64 bit,when it comes out.

JJJJJ
29-07-2009, 03:22 PM
Would your case be the Antec 900 or 1200?

It's an Antec P193