PDA

View Full Version : Preparing for reinstalling OS (again!)

R.M.
23-07-2009, 08:36 AM
Some of you will be aware that I'm getting ready to replace my HDD with the OS shortly. I'm not that experienced at this (having watched my son x1 and done it myself with your help x1).

A thought through the night (as one does!) - I use a wireless mouse. Is this likely to cause my problems doing this? I can't find the old, ordinary mouse at this stage - but it must be there somewhere.

I'm expecting the bag that Ascent is sending for the HDD to arrive today, then the old drive will be out and I await the new one... So I'll be off the air for a few days. Bother!

As always - TIA. :)

pctek
23-07-2009, 09:02 AM
Wireless, hmmm, could do. Best to have a wired one handy in case. Although you can do everything with keyboard you know - it's just a pain to do so.

Blam
23-07-2009, 02:23 PM
WHat kind of mouse?

Pretty much all wireless mice have drivers in Xp/Vista and 7, so you shouldn't need to worry too much.

If all fails you could use mouse keys:p

Blam

R.M.
23-07-2009, 05:19 PM
Some in the electronic service industry has just suggested to me that if I had a mirror image of my drive (I have several Acronis images of the OS drive) that I could just copy it on to the new drive.

I have on an external drive a few Acronis images of the OS drive. What are your thoughts about this? Is it:

1. Possible?
2. Advisable?

If this was to work - I presume one would partition the drive (I want it that way) and instead of loadings Windows XP Pro I would run the Acronis disk...

I await your comments with interest. :)

rumpty
23-07-2009, 05:29 PM
Yes, that is what images are for, among other things

The Acronis software will lead you through the procedure, incuding the partitioning, I think

Blam
23-07-2009, 05:33 PM
Its possible, yes

Acronis actually provides a cloning feature-just use that:)

Or, since this is a seagate drive just use Seatools, which is Acronis really..

R.M.