PDA

View Full Version : hey guys,please help



Zheng
22-07-2009, 09:56 PM
my laptop shut it-self down just now when i was watching clips thru net......
the shut down was like a power cut but there was no power cut......
i restarted the computer and it seems to work fine
what was happening can any1 tell me why??could that be like a process prevent from overheating?

wainuitech
22-07-2009, 10:04 PM
Generally if it's overheating, it wont start up right away again, it will need time to cool down, ( maybe 5-10 minutes sometimes) before it will restart.

What was the laptop sitting on/ Eg: a flat surface, (table / Desk) or on something soft , like a Bed, your legs etc.

If it were on something soft, the air intakes underneath can be blocked and cause overheating.

pctek
22-07-2009, 10:07 PM
Check Event Viewer and see if there are any recent critical errors.

Zheng
23-07-2009, 10:43 PM
Check Event Viewer and see if there are any recent critical errors.

The print spooler failed to reopen an existing printer connection because it could not read the configuration information from the registry key S-1-5-18\Printers\Connections. The print spooler could not open the registry key. This can occur if the registry key is corrupt or missing, or if the registry recently became unavailable.

Blam
23-07-2009, 11:28 PM
Its unlikely that was the event that caused a sudden shutdown.

Anything else?

wainuitech
23-07-2009, 11:45 PM
Was the Laptop running on batteries, or Via the Power Lead.

Zheng
24-07-2009, 12:09 AM
Was the Laptop running on batteries, or Via the Power Lead.


via a power supply......
it happened again 2day

wainuitech
24-07-2009, 08:56 AM
Dont know if you could hear much or not,but just before it shut down, did it make any "funny" sounds, like a clicking noise ??

Aslo - what is the OS, XP or Vista ?

Check the event log again, and see if that print spool error has reappeared around the time of shutdown.

Chilling_Silence
24-07-2009, 09:32 AM
Just to clarify: Did it do a "safe" shut-down, or did the screen simply go black and it began powering itself on again?

Right-click on My Computer and go to Properties
Click on Advanced, click on Startup & Recovery, then click Settings, then Startup & Recovery
Untick "Automatically restart" and hit OK.

Next time it reboots you'll get a STOP Error message. There will be some letters and numbers in this format:
0x000000E1

Write down the first in the set of numbers that looks like ^^ and post back.

Cheers


Chill.

Blam
24-07-2009, 12:42 PM
In the original post it said it was like a power cut, so I'd say its the latter...

sammo450
24-07-2009, 12:53 PM
I have friend with a broken laptop power plug. Could be that you have the same thing.

Chilling_Silence
24-07-2009, 02:40 PM
Ah yes, but "like a power cut" can also be the system restarting automatically due to a BSOD ;) What is said, and what is actually happening isn't always the same thing (All due respect to the OP, its just a fact of life).

1) "My email doesn't work on my laptop! What's wrong?"
2) "Whats the error you're getting?"
1) "I dunno, it can't find some server, pop or bang or something stupid"
2) "OK, does your internet work? What happens if you go to TradeMe?"
1) "Well TradeMe doesn't work because there's a power cut and the internet isn't working"
2) " ....... "

Zheng
24-07-2009, 05:39 PM
guys, thanks for all your replies...
it wasn't a "safe" shut-down, like a power cut where it just shut down all the sudden and i had to manually restart the laptop by pressing the power button......
system is vista
and both events happened when i was watching clips on youtube......or perhaps was using media player



Just to clarify: Did it do a "safe" shut-down, or did the screen simply go black and it began powering itself on again?

Right-click on My Computer and go to Properties
Click on Advanced, click on Startup & Recovery, then click Settings, then Startup & Recovery
Untick "Automatically restart" and hit OK.

Next time it reboots you'll get a STOP Error message. There will be some letters and numbers in this format:
0x000000E1

Write down the first in the set of numbers that looks like ^^ and post back.

Cheers


Chill.

wainuitech
24-07-2009, 09:11 PM
Since its Vista try this -- Click on the start button, start typing ( in the search window which will already be alive) Reliability, from the search results select "Reliability and Performance Monitor".

When it opens, click in the Left pane, under monitoring tools select " Reliability Monitor" On the right you will see a graph - hopefully when the laptop shut down there will be a red circle with a white X, look further down, and you will see the sub boxs, " Hardware Failure" ( along with a few others). look at every open sub box at the time of the shutdown / error.

Locate the time it shut down, then by clicking on the red circle it will tell you what happened.

Post back every thing the error message(s) say. (may be more than one error message)

wainuitech
24-07-2009, 09:15 PM
Opps double posted.

Zheng
24-07-2009, 09:23 PM
failure type: disruptive shutdown
version 6.0.6001 service pack 1

it doesnt tell me what was happening

wainuitech
24-07-2009, 09:36 PM
In what sub box was the error?

(it will be expanded out, the others will be closed)

Is this what it says -- or some other sub box: Eg: hardware, software ??????


Miscellaneous Failure
Failure Type: Disruptive Shutdown
Version: 6.0.6001 Service Pack 1
Failure Detail: Computer was not shut down properly

Edited: are you using wireless or hard wired (Ethernet cable) to connect to the internet???

Zheng
25-07-2009, 12:04 AM
miscellaneous failures


In what sub box was the error?

(it will be expanded out, the others will be closed)

Is this what it says -- or some other sub box: Eg: hardware, software ??????



Edited: are you using wireless or hard wired (Ethernet cable) to connect to the internet???

Zheng
15-08-2009, 02:15 PM
In what sub box was the error?

(it will be expanded out, the others will be closed)

Is this what it says -- or some other sub box: Eg: hardware, software ??????



Edited: are you using wireless or hard wired (Ethernet cable) to connect to the internet???


im using wireless

Zheng
15-08-2009, 02:19 PM
it happen 2 frequent and i dont know what the heck is going on.....it wasnt like that before

heres what it shows on event viewer:
The previous system shutdown at 12:42:30 p.m. on 15/08/2009 was unexpected.
- <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
<Provider Name="EventLog" />
<EventID Qualifiers="32768">6008</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-08-15T00:44:46.000Z" />
<EventRecordID>130726</EventRecordID>
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>xxxxxxxx-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
- <EventData>
<Data>12:42:30 p.m.</Data>
<Data>15/08/2009</Data>
<Data />
<Data />
<Data>15240</Data>
<Data />
<Data />
<Binary>D907080006000F000C002A001E00C400D907080006000F0000 002A001E00C400600900003C00000001000000600900000000 0000B004000001000000927C0000</Binary>
</EventData>
</Event>

Speedy Gonzales
15-08-2009, 02:30 PM
Install SP2 if you havent installed it yet. Might be a power setting in the BIOS, that you may have to disable / configure