PDA

View Full Version : HTPC Sound question



Q man
20-07-2009, 01:31 PM
I am building a HTPC and need some advice

Running 4600x2 am2 with a 8600gt not sure how to setup my sound.

MOBO has the normal 5.1 rear audio out using three plugs I am wondering how to connect this to my amp to get true surround sound, my amp is a VSX-818 which has nearly every input possible or I have an old panasonic amp which works mint but doesn't have a optical audio in it just runs surround sound via 5 RCa inputs.
I am looking for ways to set this up or if anyone knows of a cheap am2 MOBO with a optical out.

wratterus
20-07-2009, 01:37 PM
IMO in the long run you'd be better to just get a new mobo.

You can pick up a nice wee Asus or Gigabyte board suitable for HTPC use for around $160, or you could pick up a sound card with optical out but to get a decent one of those costs about as much as a new mobo.

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=9726

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=9728

Q man
20-07-2009, 01:44 PM
Yeah that sounds like the way, what sucks is start of the year I sold ga-570sli-s3 and that would have been mint.

wratterus
20-07-2009, 01:50 PM
:(

Murphy's law! Speaking from experience, it is 100% worth it going all digital for audio. The quality difference is quite noticeable if you have a decent receiver and speakers. I've got 5.1 optical from the Xbox to the Onkyo HT Receiver, coaxial 5.1 from the PC to the HT Receiver and optical from the freeview decoder, all excellent quality Wouldn't go back to analogue now.

nofam
20-07-2009, 02:49 PM
Just bear in mind that there's no MoBo on the market currently (please correct me if I'm wrong Wratt/CYaBro) that can decode TrueHD and DTS-HD MA; outputting via Optical Out still downgrades the sound quality.

If you want the full aural experience you'll need to add one of these (http://www.asus.co.nz/products.aspx?l1=25&l2=150&l3=0&l4=0&model=2355&modelmenu=1) too. Around $400 IIRC.

Agent_24
20-07-2009, 02:58 PM
What board are you using right now?

Most of them should support SPDIF at least via a bracket (you can buy them easily for $10)

Q man
20-07-2009, 05:32 PM
That is a great idea Agent 24 I believe its is a m2n-mx asus

Two questions

1. Where do I get a SPDIF bracket?

2. Is the quality as good as optical and what cable do I buy

Thanks for all the help everyone!!!

Speedy Gonzales
20-07-2009, 05:43 PM
You can get something like this (http://www.dtconline.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=8219) check that the mobo has a SPDIF header first. It comes with the cable for the mobo header. Wish I could use the adapter for the other card here. But there's more pins on the other soundcard, thats whats on this mobo. As it supports digital in/out and coaxial in/out

Agent_24
20-07-2009, 05:47 PM
Check your motherboard model carefully, there are variations of the same design

The real model name will be written on the board itself in white letters.

Once you know for sure what it is then we can find out if it supports that bracket or not