PDA

View Full Version : Slaving Drives



B.M.
20-07-2009, 10:28 AM
A mate has just purchased a new computer and wishes to transfer all his photos /music / documents over from his old one. Fine, nothing wrong with that except he hasnít got a clue just what it is he wants.

So, I thought maybe just Slave his old HDD to the new computer then all his files will still be there as he remembers different things. Now the New Computer has a whopping SATA HDD and his old one a Modest 40gig ATA IDE HDD, the new one running Vista and the old one XP.

How would you guyís go about setting up such a configuration as I donít want the two Operating Systems conflicting. He has all his Application Disks, Office etc which can be loaded onto the Vista system so the old HDD just needs to sit there and mind its business until he thinks of something he should transfer.

Sounds easy enough, but I just thought Iíd better check. :D :thanks

pctek
20-07-2009, 11:20 AM
Just hook it up, the new drive should be set to be the boot drive in the BIOS.
He can delete the Windows folder in the old one, then just leave it attached.

Or better, put it in an enclosure and use it as an external drive. That way there's no hassles and he can use it in future as a backup drive as well.

Blam
20-07-2009, 01:34 PM
The two OS's won't "conflict"

Just boot from Vista as normal then copy whatever files from the HD.

You could also try WIndows Easy Transfer.

Blam