PDA

View Full Version : athlon64 3200+, 7600GS, 350W PSU



Mirddes
16-07-2009, 08:32 PM
will 350W PSU with 18A on the 12V rail be enough to power a Athlon64 3200+ and a 7600GS?

Blam
16-07-2009, 08:35 PM
Just.

What brand is the PSU?

Mirddes
16-07-2009, 08:52 PM
generic

14A on the 3v rail and 28A on the 5v rail

Blam
16-07-2009, 09:29 PM
Replace it with an Antec neopower 420w. At least.

PSU will die soon..

Mirddes
17-07-2009, 04:03 AM
lol, i was looking at spending ~$50 on a psu for this system and then i found an old psu lying around which may have had enough power to do the job.

pctek
17-07-2009, 09:12 AM
Bad idea. Crap PSUs can take out the other components with it when they die violently.

Mirddes
18-07-2009, 11:25 AM
ive never actually had a bad experience with less no name psus

davidmmac
18-07-2009, 11:48 AM
My PC (AMD Athlon 3500+, 7600GS silent, 80GB HDD) has a 350W Colorsit (?) PSU. It runs fine (touch wood) :) (P.S. It was a $350 cheapy off trade me :punk).

I'm not saying you should do it, I'm just saying mine runs fine.

Brooko
18-07-2009, 01:14 PM
I think it's a question of risk. Our old Dell Dimension 5150 (is actually a great machine still) had the PSU go up in smoke after 3 years use. I was very, very lucky - it was only the PSU. It could have taken most of the mainboard connected components with it if I was unlucky.

Long story short - even though it's only our second PC - I replaced the 300W PSU with a no frills Silverstone 400W PSU. I think it cost about $100 - but I have peace of mind knowing it is quality. They're not available now - but you can find basic spec Enermax, Corsair, Antec etc (good brands) for around $100.

For my main build I went with a Corsair - but between mobo, cpu, ram and gfx, I have over $1300 with my current configuration. Am I going to risk those components by saving a measly $100ish on a cheap PSU .....

Your choice - your risk.