PDA

View Full Version : 3.2ghz and beyond!!!!!



Openingfuel
16-07-2009, 10:40 AM
I have finally got the courage to overclock and got my q6600 right up to 3.2ghz very easily! The temps are about 30 degrees after about 30 mins of prime 95 with four threads right at 100%. I have a coolermaster v8 cpu cooler and a coolermaster haf 932 case. So, how far do you think I would be able to overclock too? :)

qazwsxokmijn
16-07-2009, 10:47 AM
I doubt it's at 30 degrees full Prime95 load under a V8. What program are you using to monitor temps? Use Realtemp.

I had mine at 3.4GHz and it did low 60s during IBR. Mid 50s during Prime95.

Openingfuel
16-07-2009, 10:58 AM
I am using everest to monitor temps and at the moment it says 32 for cpu, 30 core 1, 28 core 2, 26 core 3 and 27 degrees core 4. Ill have a go with the software you have mentioned.

qazwsxokmijn
16-07-2009, 11:04 AM
Yeah my everest also reports temps that are about 15 degrees lower then what Realtemp reports.

Openingfuel
16-07-2009, 11:04 AM
With realtemp it shows 37 33 32 35

qazwsxokmijn
16-07-2009, 11:15 AM
Wow that's great temps. Take it up to 3.4GHz and see how it goes.

Openingfuel
16-07-2009, 11:24 AM
I might just do that ;)

Openingfuel
16-07-2009, 11:43 AM
I got it on 3.42ghz on a 1.5 voltage. Starting temp was 36 and now pickingup because of prime 95. Lets see what happens!

Tuneznz
16-07-2009, 02:36 PM
Just do it fa***t

Blam
16-07-2009, 06:01 PM
Those are really nice temps for a Q6600...

hueybot3000
16-07-2009, 06:37 PM
Bit too nice really, check temps in bios

qazwsxokmijn
16-07-2009, 08:12 PM
Just what I was thinking....mid-high 30s is very nice for a 3.2GHz quad at load. Are you sure those are not idle??

Brooko
16-07-2009, 11:18 PM
Yup - I'm with you guys. I only have my Q6600 @ 3 Ghz - and with the Xiggy it idles high 20's low 30's depending on ambient (good case cooling as well). If I push it with Prime95 on all cores - it gets to low-mid 50's.

I'm trancoding a video while I'm posting this and all 4 cores are pumping. Temps are 40-45 ish.

OPs 30's under load doesn't seem possible with a V8 :eek:

qazwsxokmijn
16-07-2009, 11:34 PM
.....unless he's keeping the system out in the snow! :D

Tuneznz
17-07-2009, 10:33 AM
Not a bad idea qazwsxokmijn, directly vent the coldair from outside into your pc...

Blam
17-07-2009, 10:53 AM
Nah, Dry Ice cooling:D

Openingfuel
23-07-2009, 05:04 PM
this has gone a bit off topic lolz ill check the bios next time, testing cpu at 3.42ghz =P

Openingfuel
23-07-2009, 05:19 PM
Yes it says 19 C in the bios at 3.42ghz, this might be because of the motherboards powersaving ability, changing the 9x multiplyer to a 6x or 7x

hueybot3000
23-07-2009, 07:02 PM
It still seem to low, my e6600 is idles around room temp at 3.6ghz with watercooling

qazwsxokmijn
23-07-2009, 07:35 PM
Still not possible....even at 2.4GHz it's hard to believe it does mid 30s on load.

Blam
23-07-2009, 09:49 PM
Still not possible....even at 2.4GHz it's hard to believe it does mid 30s on load.

Yea....the old Q6600's were pretty good tho..could he have one of them maybe?

hueybot3000
23-07-2009, 09:50 PM
I think he should try unplugging fans and stressing to see if temp rises