PDA

View Full Version : Excel capabilities

bullittstng
15-07-2009, 07:18 AM
I'll try and explain this mess as clear as I can. I'm an intern and working on a project where I'm supposed to add a new worksheet to an existing labor budget spreadsheet. On this new spreadsheet a project manager will enter an employee name, organization#, organization name, pay status, and the number of hours they forecast the given person will work in a certain month.

This part isn't so bad but the next step I'm having trouble figuring out its feasability.

I need to aggregate the data from the first worksheet into another worksheet for the finance department. The catch is that while on the first worksheet the data was entered for specific employees, this other worksheet will need its data to be grouped by organization numbers. I will need a cell in the new worksheet to go to the other worksheet find every instance of a organization number then calculate the sum of the hours worked by the people that make up that org. It also needs to differentiate "exempt vs non exempt" pay status and the name of the organization they belong to (in my case it will need to seperate BGE from CEG employees). The expectation is is that the spreadsheet should be able to detect all of the various org#s on the preceeding worksheet and aggregate the labor hours for a given month automatically as well as distinguish different pay types and different organization names. Since the project manager could enter the data out of order I can't rely on any set ranges or IF statements referencing specific cells.

I'm sorry if this is unclear, this was just plopped on my desk but I'm really finding the expectations unreasonable. Any help would be much appreciated.

McGinty48
15-07-2009, 08:43 AM