PDA

View Full Version : Question



sk69ersnz
11-07-2009, 03:16 PM
I just bought some more RAM today,now the RAM installed at the moment are 2 A-Data 512MB DDR2 -667 memory.
The ones I bought were A-Data 512MB DDR2-800 memory,is that going to make a difference,the guy at the shop said it would'nt,I just want to double check with you guys,cheers.

Speedy Gonzales
11-07-2009, 03:26 PM
Depends what the mobo supports 667 or 800 or higher. And if the mobo supports dual channel ram, it wont work, since theyre 2 different sticks

sk69ersnz
11-07-2009, 03:41 PM
The guy said when you put them in they should slow down to 667mhz,does that make any sense.I think the mobo supports dual channel.

Speedy Gonzales
11-07-2009, 03:44 PM
Well yup if the mobo supports up to 667 (not 800) then it'll go down to 667 speed. And it wont run in dual channel mode (if the 800 fsb ram is in it). The sticks have to be identical for dual channel to work. Altho, this shouldnt matter, it'll still work.

sk69ersnz
11-07-2009, 04:18 PM
Found some info on mobo.supports DDR2 533/667/800/1066

Speedy Gonzales
11-07-2009, 04:20 PM
Ok then the 667 ram will still run @ 667. And it still wont run in dual channel. Since the sticks are different. It wont make any diff tho, except you'll have more ram

sk69ersnz
11-07-2009, 04:26 PM
Cool,cheers mate.